The Sunday Salon: Reading Detour

Remember Simon’s fun meme from a week and a half ago?  I had every intention of reading all three of the books I mentioned in the third question, it was just a matter of which one to begin with.  And that turned out to be an easy decision.  I read An Artist of the Floating World, which was wonderful (read my review).  But after that, a couple of things happened that caused a detour in my reading plans.

First, I just couldn’t face another serious book.  I needed some brain candy, and I needed it immediately.  It was either Julia Spencer-Fleming or Kate Atkinson … now, which one?  I had both on my stacks, but the Spencer-Fleming had been there the longest.  This was a win-win!  I could read something light and fun, and I could make progress towards the one reading goal I’m failing at.  Reading To Darkness and to Death has been a delightful break; it’s just as good as the first three books in the series.  I’ll have a review up soon.

And then, this week I received my copy of Winifred Holtby’s The Land of Green Ginger, bought on impulse after Virago released several books with these beautiful new covers.  As I unwrapped the packaging, I knew it wouldn’t go on my shelves until I’d read it.   So this will “count” as my May Virago book, instead of Willa Cather’s My Antonia.  I’ll get to that one soon, possibly in June.

I blame my kids for this little reading detour.  The end of the school year is in sight, and #1 daughter is nearly finished with high school.  Her “senioritis” is contagious.  Who wants to read heavy and serious books when there’s fun to be had?  Not me !  The question now is, is my detour a long or short one?

Time will tell … are you reading something fun this week?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

11 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Reading Detour

  1. Earlier this week (thursday night), I was having trouble sleeping. As the hours were moving along, I decided I’d stop tossing and turning and got up to do some reading. I picked up a fabulous little book that I’d been wanting to read for a few years (sadly probably 10). It’s called Digging for Old Delaware: The Archeology of Country Life in the 1700s.

    It’s not a really long book, but filled with lots of incredible facts about archeology in DE and some really cool digs they’ve done.

    It was mission accomplished as I read all but two pages AND fell asleep. If you’re into early American history in DE and have a fascination for archeology, I recommend this.

    Deep Peace

    • Well Jeff, I’m not sure I’d call that a fun read, but as a cure for insomnia, it sounds very effective! But actually I do enjoy both history and archaeology …

      • It was pretty interesting. Although maybe the fact that it took me close to ten years to read it and I started it because I couldn’t fall asleep, maybe that should tell me something.

        Anyway it was enjoyable. I can’t wait to tell you and Chris about my amphibian search last night. It was awesome! I was in a 5′ deep pond in waders. We were there until after 10pm. We can talk more offline.

  2. For me, fun is reading an Elizabeth Berg novel, and I started her newest one yesterday (Once Upon a Time There Was You).

    I’m totally into it.

    I also went to lunch with a friend yesterday, and over our clam chowder, we looked at my latest manuscript which she had given a read.

    I’ll be sending it to others, too. After I make a few changes.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  3. Oh, brain candy is definitely a delight and absolutely needed from time to time…I turn to “chick lit” or suspense-thrillers when I need a brain-free reading experience :) I’m reading The London Train right now which is VERY slow…I think I’ll be up for something faster paced and less serious when I’m done with it!

    • Wendy, I don’t know why but I can’t get into chick lit. But something with suspense can be just the ticket. I’ll be looking to see what you read next!

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Salon: Free vs. Purchased…. | Books in the Burbs

Comments are closed.