The Sunday Salon: My August Book Stack

July certainly went by quickly, didn’t it?  It turned out to be a great month for reading, thanks in no small part to Orange July.  I read 7 books altogether, and 4 of them were Orangey, including Song of Achilles, the 2012 winner and my book of the year so far (read my review).  I also read Tina Fey’s Bossypants, which I enjoyed a lot but for some reason just didn’t feel like reviewing.  Reviews will be coming soon for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter and So Long, See you Tomorrow, both of which I finished yesterday.  Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a mystery of sorts, but more interesting to me was the back story and relationship between the two main characters.  This book was “unputdownable”!  So Long, See you Tomorrow is a slim novel, only 135 pages, the perfect size to read while traveling on a day trip to New York.  And I must say, I was completely immersed in it; the bus ride passed quickly.  I’ll be back soon with more about each of these books.

So now I’m looking ahead to August, and will dive into this stack of books today:

Pictured from top to bottom:

  • On my Kindle, George Eliot’s MiddlemarchI’ve been reading this all year as part of dovegreyreader’s Team Middlemarch group read.  I recently finished Book IV (of VIII), but the discussion was deferred from July to August.  While I’ve mostly enjoyed taking this book slowly, I’m now caught up in the story and eager to continue.  I’ve decided to press on at my own pace, hoping to read about 50 pages per week.  At that rate I should finish Middlemarch in September.
  • The Rising Tide, by Molly Keane: This is my Virago Modern Classic for the month.  I’ve already read the August Elizabeth Taylor Centenary selection and will be joining Karen’s discussion, but I still need my Virago fix!
  • A Long Long Way, by Sebastian Barry:  I’m a little behind on my Booker Prize reading this year, and this one caught my eye after listening to an author interview.  It’s also the only book from the 2005 shortlist that I haven’t read yet.
  • Carry Me Down, by M. J. Hyland: This 2006 Booker Prize nominee also caught my attention when I was perusing the prize backlist.  Originally on my June book stack, I had to return it to the library when my dad was hospitalized, which naturally diverted my reading plans (and he’s doing better now, thank you).  I plan to start this one today.
  • Wild Life, by Molly Gloss: This book, and the one below it (Gardens of Water, by Alan Drew), are the dustiest books on my TBR pile.  Both came into my possession in 2008, as “hand-me-downs” from two different but equally marvelous bookish friends.  It’s about time I read them, don’t you think?

Well, the only thing that could keep me from reading those two TBRs is Bring up the Bodies, by Hilary Mantel.  I loved Wolf Hall (read my review), and keep hearing great things about this second book in the trilogy.  I requested it from my library about a week before the Booker Prize 2012 longlist was announced, and am now 23rd in the queue.  I’ve moved up about 30 places in just a couple of weeks so it’s all but a given for August.  So apologies in advance to those dusty TBRs; I promise you’ll get my attention in September!

All in all, it’s been a great summer for reading.  How about you?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: My August Book Stack

  1. Enjoyed your review of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. I saw it somewhere and the title caught my attention as well as the cover and wondered what it was about. I have put it on my Library Wish list at the LIbrary. Hope to get it once I get back from a trip we’re taking for 5 weeks very soon. Pam

    • kaggsy, I hope you enjoy “All Virago, All August”. That’s a great event; the only reason I’m not taking part is that I did Orange July and want more “freedom” and variety in my August reads.

Comments are closed.