The Sunday Salon: Smallest Book Stack Ever

It’s Labor Day weekend in the US, heralding the end of summer and back-to-school time.  August went by so quickly!  Fortunately it was a good month for reading.  I had to juggle my August book stack a bit, because, as I hoped, I was able to get Hilary Mantel’s Bring up the Bodies from my local library. Lucky me!

Not surprisingly, Mantel’s sequel to Wolf Hall was my favorite book in August; I rated it 4.5 stars and will publish a review soonish.  My other reads all fell into the 3-3.5 star category — nothing great, but no really bad experiences either.

Although you can’t tell from this stack, I have much to look forward to in September:
C1C1F967-09B1-451D-ABA7-7166F96C05A5-22152-0000178F0DC6EED2

This is probably my shortest book stack ever!  For the first time, several of my planned reads are on Kindle, including Middlemarch, Anthony Trollope’s The Warden, and The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, by Kate Summerscale.  I also plan to read Elizabeth Taylor’s The Soul of Kindness, which is this month’s book in our year-long centenary celebration.  And finally, carried over from August is Gardens of Water, by Alan Drew, the dustiest book on my TBR pile having been there since 2008.

Not pictured, but available from my library if time permits, is Dirt Music, by Tim Winton, nominated for the Booker Prize in 2002.  We’ll see if I get to it; if not there’s always October!

Over this long holiday weekend I decided to focus on Middlemarch.  I’ve been reading this book all year, I’m really enjoying it, and I’m sooo close to the end.  I can’t wait to see how all the plot threads resolve.

I’m also gearing up for Book Blogger Appreciation Week, September 10-14.  I didn’t take part last year, simply because I didn’t get my act together.  When the festivities began I was pretty bummed out to be sitting on the sidelines.  This year I signed up for an interview swap, which will be published on September 11, and I’m eager to see what else the organizers have in store.  If you haven’t registered yet, what are you waiting for?  Click here to join the fun.

What are you reading this weekend?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

8 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Smallest Book Stack Ever

  1. I would love to get ahold of Mantel’s books. I’m now reading Kate Emerson’s Tudor novels and have become interested in these period books. Bring Up the Bodies looks awesome.

    • harvee, Mantel is an interesting writer. Her books prior to Wolf Hall were all quite different from each other in theme and style, so she’s not the sort of writer where if you like one book you’ll like them all. However, Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies are part of a series (with one more yet to come), and are really excellent. I hope you are able to find them.

    • Laurel-Rain, I recommend you start with Wolf Hall as it is the first in her Cromwell series (a third book is yet to be published). Enjoy!

    • Vasilly, I haven’t read any Winton either, but it caught my eye as I was perusing the backlist of Booker Prize nominees. I haven’t read anything by an Australian author in a while and in fact, realized I was getting pretty deep into American & British lit. So it was time to mix it up a bit.

    • kaggsy, I’m not much of a re-reader anyway (too many other books begging for my attention). But I’ve heard it’s intriguing so I’m looking forward to it.

Comments are closed.