The Sunday Salon: Bring on Book Blogger Appreciation Week !!

Book Blogger Appreciation Week starts tomorrow, and I’m pretty excited about it!  Last year, a mix-up in my Google Reader meant that I didn’t learn of the event until it was underway :(  This year I’m all in.

BBAW has grown from its humble beginnings in 2008.  For each of the past four years, the event focused on community building and appreciation, largely through an awards process.  As the community grew, the awards became more numerous and complicated, and were so prominent that some felt the sense of community was lost.  I didn’t think I had especially strong feelings about this, until I read that this year there are no awards.  And my first reaction was, “YES.  That feels right.”

So in 2012 BBAW returns to its roots, “to recognize the hard work and contribution of book bloggers to the promotion and preservation of a literate culture actively engaged in discussing books, authors, and a lifestyle of reading.”  It’s a time to recharge, connect with each other, and feel good about what we do.

All week the BBAW site will have guest posts and blogger profiles (so you might want to add it to your feed reader if you haven’t already).  On book blogs everywhere, people will be sharing their thoughts on the “topic of the day.”  Tuesday there will be interview swaps — I’m really excited about my interview with Chris @ Chrisbookarama, and she’ll publish an interview with me, too!

Come along and join the fun, won’t you?

Hope to see you here during BBAW!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Bring on Book Blogger Appreciation Week !!

  1. I had a similar problem this year with being notified of BBAW. I’m not sure I would have been able to participate much anyway so I plan to enjoy everyone else’s blog posts about blogging and bloggers! I agree that it was a good idea to go without awards as singling out can be divisive and cause problems.

    Enjoy the week, Laura, and have fun! I’ll be back!

Comments are closed.