BBAW: Interviewing Chris @ Chrisbookarama

When I signed up for BBAW interviews, I was a little nervous about who I’d get paired up with.  It took me back to college days, waiting to learn who my roommate would be, and all that associated nervousness.  What was I worried about?  A quick peek at  Chris at Chrisbookarama‘s blog and I promptly forgot about everything I was supposed to be doing at that time.  My goodness, we like a lot of the same books.  Why is Nova Scotia so far away from Pennsylvania?!  I want to visit and chat over coffee or whatever.  So I did the next best thing and began following her on Twitter and Pinterest, added her blog to my feed reader, and hoped she wouldn’t think I was a stalker. :)

As Chris and I began exchanging email and developing our interview questions and answers, we kept discovering similarities between us.  Late last week she tweeted: “I think @lindsayla18 is my blogging doppelgänger. It’s kinda scary how alike our tastes are.”  Whew!  So she’s a stalker, too!  Click here to see my answers to her questions..  Well this was really a lot of fun.  I enjoyed getting to know Chris, and I hope our association continues beyond this interview.

So without further ado, here’s Chris!

We both started our blogs in January 2007.  How have your reasons for blogging, or your approach, changed over the years?

I’m constantly changing my opinion about book blogging. At first, it was just a creative outlet for me and I liked finding other people who loved reading as much as I did. For a little while I thought about trying to make it more than a hobby. After that, I took the middle road and considered it a “serious hobby.” These days I’m not posting as much as I once was and I’m finding it harder to write reviews. I know that it’s just a phase and try not to worry too much anymore about the occasional bumps in my blogging. I always find my way back to it. It’s too much a part of my life now!

I love your “Cupcakes and Apples” rating scheme.  Have you ever read a book that rated tops in both categories?

I had to go back and look and I’m surprised that I did have a few: The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy, and The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. There might be more that I missed. I do think that these were excellent stories, though all quite different from each other.

Your reading is fairly balanced between audio books and other media. How do you decide which books to “read” on audio?

Because I’m kind of cheap, I use the library for audiobooks (Overdrive). This limits what I can choose from when it comes to them. In a way, this is a good thing because I’ve picked books on audio that I never would have picked up otherwise. When I can’t decide between reading the paper copy or listen to the audio, I’ll listen to a sample. Usually the library has one for each book, I think this depends on the publisher though. A good narrator can make an audiobook an excellent experience, while a bad one can make it a miserable one.

What is your favorite book so far this year?

I think that would have to be Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I know it’s been hyped up but I thought it was well done. It’s a book that you can’t talk about with anyone who hasn’t read it for fear of ruining it for them.

If you could make everyone in the world read one book, what would it be?

Without a doubt, Jane Eyre. I’m such a Jane fangirl. I would also have to insist that everyone love it.

How do you spend your time when you’re not reading?

Besides reading, I like spending time outdoors with my family, when the weather permits. I’ve also taken up running. I like that bit of alone time. I also like to crochet while watching the primetime lineup. So, basically I like to keep busy!

15 thoughts on “BBAW: Interviewing Chris @ Chrisbookarama

  1. Two of my favorite bloggers interviewing each other! How awesome is that? :-) I can’t believe you two didn’t already know each other. I’m glad you finally “met’.

    Jane Eyre is one of my absolute favorite books too. I recently read a knock off of it and it’s put me in the mood to pick up Charlotte Bronte’s book again.

Comments are closed.