The Sunday Salon: Third Quarter Progress

Here we are, at the end of a quarter again.  How does time pass so quickly?  Seems like just yesterday I was whinging about reading fewer books, and reading more slowly, this year.  Well, things picked up a bit in the summer, as they often do.  I’ve read 48 books year-to-date, 18 in the third quarter.  I also finished Middlemarch, which I’d been reading most of the year.

I was also lucky enough to enjoy two 5-star reads:  Madeline Miller’s Song of Achilles, which won the Orange Prize, and Jane Harris’ Gillespie and I (click on the links for reviews).  All in all, I feel better about my reading now than earlier in the year.

Happily, most of my 2012 Reading Resolutions are back on track too:

  1. I will read more books from my stacks than I acquire.  Eight of the books read this quarter were ones I already own: 3 Virago Modern Classics, 5 from my stacks.  I also read 1 new acquisition. And it seems I added *gulp* 20 books to my home library.  But wait!  12 of those were Virago Modern Classics, which I consider part of a collection, not part of my stacks.  Using this new, vastly preferred calculation method, I added 8 books and read 6 (5 from my stacks and 1 new acquisition).  Not so bad, right?  Well, that’s how I rationalize it anyway. :)
  2. I will read more non-fiction.  I’m failing miserably!  I read only 1 non-fiction book in the third quarter, and just 4 year-to-date.  As much as I want more balance in my reading, I’m much more tempted by the fiction on my shelves.
  3. I will continue making progress on all reading projects, but especially the Booker Prize, Orange Prize, and Virago Modern Classics.  I’m on track to reach my goal of reading 12 Virago Modern Classics.  I hoped to read 12 Booker and Orange Prize nominees as well, but I’m likely to fall short by a book or two.  Still, I’ve made steady progress and I’m happy about that.
  4. I will increase interaction with the book blogging community.  The Elizabeth Taylor Centenary continues to be a lot of fun.  I dropped out of some reading challenges mid-year, but The Classics Club has taken shape nicely with its own website, a growing membership, and interesting monthly features.   I also can’t say enough good things about Book Blogger Appreciation Week, which gave me a much-needed boost of community good will and inspired me to use Twitter more, which has been fun.

Looking ahead to the fourth quarter, my reading plans are deliciously unstructured.  Yes, I have a stack of books lined up for October, which I’ll share with you next week.  But after that, I’m not so sure.  And that’s fine with me — I’ll go where my mood takes me.

How has your reading evolved over the year?  Any changes in store for the fourth quarter?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Third Quarter Progress

  1. I’ve spent today looking back at my reading resolutions too. I really need to spend the rest of the year reading more of my ARCs. Good luck with everything!

    • Vasilly, I’ve avoided ARCs for that very reason — I was afraid they’d pile up! I hope they’re good ones though, that will make it all worthwhile.

  2. My reading has evolved dramatically this year, thanks to my discovery of LibraryThing and particularly the Virago Modern Classics group. This led me on to a number of wonderful book blogs which has in turn led to books I’d never come across before and even to do my own blog! I’ve avoided most reading challenges as I think they’d restrict me too much – though I have managed to keep up with the Elizabeth Taylor centenary read-along and that’s been fun!

    • kaggsy, isn’t it wonderful how these sites / groups / blogs enrich our reading? To think I used to choose my books based solely on the New York Times bestseller list … so limited!! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the centenary!

  3. I’m not sure that I have reading resolutions. I consider myself a slow reader — and slower responder to my reading so I now just accept that’s the way it’s going to be.
    However,I did have resolutions about my blog which I have not kept — mostly to figure out how to illustrate and make it look like something more than gray space full of words.
    I so admire those who have mastered the graphics of blogging.

    • Barbara, interesting comment on the more “techie” aspects of blogging. I agree there’s value in paying attention to that, and devoting time to it every so often.

Comments are closed.