The Sunday Salon: Tearing through my book stack

Brr!  Last week, autumn was on its way and now it’s well and truly here.  Temperatures have dropped and the air is crisp.  This is perfect weather for curling up in a chair to read, and my cats are more than happy to supply extra warmth.

It’s been a busy bookish week, which always means a lot of activity here on the blog.  At mid-month, I’m already on the last book in my reading stack!  I moved through the stack so quickly due primarily to one short book (The Ant Heap, which was just OK), and one “DNF” (Nadine Gordimer’s Burger’s Daughter).  To read my reviews, just click on the titles.  I enjoyed Homer’s Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale more than the others, so that takes me to The Secret History, which I’ve only just started.  So many people commented on this book last week that I’ve really been looking forward to diving into it.

It seems almost inevitable that I’ll read at least one more book in October, possibly two.  It’s been a while since I read a Persephone, so I’ve already decided that Julia Strachey’s Cheerful Weather for the Wedding is up next.  It’s also on my Classics Club list, and I’m all fired up about classics since posting about them earlier this week.

The Persephone is a short book, so I might be able to squeeze in one more.  I could treat myself and read something new, because yesterday was my 6th “thingaversary” on LibraryThing.  According to unofficial site rules, this entitles me to buy myself 7 books (one for each year, and one to grow on)!  If I could only decide what to buy!  I can’t believe I’m in a quandary over this, but I most definitely am.  I might pick up a couple of titles from the 2013 Booker Prize short list.  In fact, I’m really excited about the prize announcement, coming this Tuesday.  Perhaps I’ll buy the winning book.  And maybe one or two more.  I’ve thought about picking up a couple more Viragos or Persephones, but I can’t decide which ones.  Or maybe I’ll get Hilary Mantel’s A Place of Greater Safety, one of her earlier novels which gets rave reviews from others who, like me, really enjoyed her Cromwell trilogy.

Do you have any recommendations for my “thingaversary” gift?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

13 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Tearing through my book stack

  1. I have had the slowest year in reading this year – I wish I could have a really good month for a change! Glad you have found your reading mo-jo, Laura!!!! Have a great week :)

    • Wendy this has been my slowest reading year since I started blogging an keeping track of these things. I don’t mind slowing down too much if I’m enjoying the books, but when I hit a patch of crappy books I feel discouraged. I hope your reading picks up too. Sending you a hug!

    • Lisa, I highly recommend LibraryThing. It’s great for cataloging your books, but even more importantly I have great bookish conversations there. It’s a very nice reading community.

  2. Have you read any of the Booker shortlist yet? I just finished Narcopolis yesterday (I’ll probably review it on my blog tomorrow). I’m working on The Garden of the Evening Mists. I’ve come to grips with the fact that I won’t finish THAT one before Tuesday! ;) Narcopolis was good if you like surreal-opiate novels. I don’t regret reading it, but I probably won’t read it again. The Garden of the Evening Mists is really drawing me in though! I’m hoping it will be the winner.

    • Rachel, congratulations on reading so many from the short list. I’ve only read one, Bring up the Bodies, which I loved. I’ve heard great things about Garden of Evening Mists and am kind of hoping it wins too.

  3. Wow – you are doing well Laura! I have taken a week to read my current book (which is a long time for me) but I enjoyed it and it’s led me off on a trail of discovering more new authors!

  4. Mantel can be a bit hit and miss. I struggled with Place of Greater Safety a few years ago and didn’t actually finish it. Then I bought her memoir Giving up the Ghost which was really fascinating. With the two books on Cromwell she seems to have got into a totally new dimension

    • Interesting comment. I didn’t care at all for Beyond Black, and someone told me that each of her novels is quite different from the others. A very interesting author!

      • I haven’t looked at Beyond Black – it sounds rather odd. The kind of approach where if you can get it right, could be stupendous but equally it could go horribly wrong and just end up bizarrely confusing. And I do hate books that leave me scratching my head all the time.

Comments are closed.