The Sunday Salon: Elizabeth Taylor Centenary Giveaway!!

I am very happy to be hosting a giveaway today, as part of a  year-long Elizabeth Taylor Centenary Celebration!!

British novelist Elizabeth Taylor was an intensely private person, so very little was known about her life until Nicola Beauman published her biography, The Other Elizabeth Taylor.  It is a comprehensive account of her life and career.  Published after her death and with her husband’s consent, the biography reveals details of her private life and the parallels with her novel are obvious.  The biography is somewhat controversial, in that Taylor’s children  objected to certain themes, but despite that I found it an invaluable companion to Taylor’s novels and short stories.

I read this book back in March, and in my review I wrote, “All too often, biographies are dry, factual accounts.  Nicola Beauman’s thorough research infused this biography with real people and emotion.”  This book is a must-have for any Elizabeth Taylor fan, and makes great reading even if you are just getting to know Taylor and her work.  It would also make a great gift!

Win a copy of The Other Elizabeth Taylor, by Nicola Beauman

One lucky person will receive a copy of The Other Elizabeth Taylor.  It could be you!  Here are the necessary details:

  • The giveaway contest is open until 5:00 PM (US EST) on Friday, November 23, 2012.
  • The giveaway contest is open to anyone in the world.
  • To enter, please leave a comment answering the question:
    • If you could ask Elizabeth Taylor a question, what would it be?
  • The winner will be chosen at random and announced on my blog. I will also notify the winner by email, and request a shipping address for the book.
  • Bonus!  if you’d like to send the book as a gift, I will wrap it and enclose a small card inscribed with your message!

Good luck!!

Comments are welcome, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know not enter your name into the drawing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

12 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Elizabeth Taylor Centenary Giveaway!!

  1. What a lovely giveaway Laura! Without wanting to appear too controversial, I would ask Taylor if she had any regrets about her life choices – given another chance, would she opt for a life of as a pure artist, which is so often incompatible with traiditonal female lifestyles. Or would she stick with the life she had had, and live with the stereotyping of her work that followed on from this? Please enter me, thank you – and I’ll be interested to see what others would ask ET!

  2. She intrigues me. I’d rather not ask any questions, but just sit and visit with her while she writes.

    I wonder how different her life would have been if she was a young writer now.

  3. Having not read any Elizabeth Taylor yet, but hearing lots about her in the last several months and being greatly intrigued, I would love to read her biography. But, sadly, at this point I have nothing to ask her. :-(

  4. I would love to ask Elizabeth Taylor where her inspiration for her books came from. Was it from her imagination? Was it from bits and pieces of lives and times that she viewed in the real world? Was it from her own life or someone in her life? And I would like to know how she wrote? Did she set aside a certain time each day? Did she have a particular desk she wrote from? Did she write her drafts freehand or did she type them? Was there a window by her desk? Did she drink tea as she wrote?
    When I read her, I always wonder. Even though the same types of empathy and humor run through her works, each is so different one from another. She is simply so fascinating to me and I have loved all of her works.
    I would love to be entered in this drawing. Thank you Laura.

  5. P.S. The title of this book always makes me smile because I think of the actress Elizabeth Taylor as “the other Elizabeth Taylor”. Are there more of you out there who do this as well?

    • I do Belva.

      I have the book and I am at a loss for questions, but your question reminds me of the introduction to the recent collection of Elizabeth Taylor’s short stories, where her daughter wrote:

      “Writers are often asked about their method of working. My mother wrote by hand into cardboard covered exercise books as she was never one to master machinery happily. Later, when we had left home she sat at her desk, but as a child I remember her sitting in an armchair beside the fire, shoes kicked off and her feet tucked under her, ready at any time to put down her pen and attend to us. Sometimes we would tip the old sofa onto its back and perform somersaults into it while she worked beside us, using the notes she had scribbled onto the backs of envelopes or shopping lists …”

  6. I alsdo wonder what she would have thought of the present times. Please count me in for the giveaway and thank you ever so much for making it worldwide.

  7. To anyone who wins the book, you are in for a fantastic read. Having read a few more of Taylor’s novels since reading Beauman’s biography though it would be a good idea to go back and glean more details from it.

    My thoughts of Elizabeth Taylor are of the woman before the author. I can only imagine it’s down to reading so much about her home life – the image of her writing away while her children were at school or in between loads of laundry. So if I could whip back in time I would love to see her expression once she found out so many people were enjoying her books in 2012.

    Since I have a copy of your giveaway, Laura, I’ll just wish good luck to the others. Enjoy your day!

Comments are closed.