The Sunday Salon: My February Book Stack

Hello fellow readers and welcome to another Sunday Salon.  I woke this morning to see a couple of inches of snow on the ground, and it’s very cold outside.  But yesterday, everybody’s favorite groundhog predicted an early spring, so I’m sure this will all pass quickly.  :)

The groundhog also reminded me that it’s a new month, and time to share what I plan to read in the coming weeks.  I admit, I didn’t stick to my January plans, but I enjoyed the diversion and still read 5 books, including one short story collection, getting my short story project off to a good start.

For February, I’ve again assembled 5 books (one of which is not pictured, since it will come from the library).

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App
Taking a closer look:

  • Mrs Somebody Somebody, by Tracy Winn:  These are February’s short stories.  I’ll probably start this tonight before bed (and after Downton Abbey!)
  • Sovereign, by C.J. Sansom:  This is the third book in the Matthew Shardlake mystery series, set in the time of King Henry VIII. This one is a 660-page chunkster, but easy reading, and I’m about 1/3 of the way through it.  It was just what I needed after finishing the rather bleak Patrick Melrose Novels this week (read my review).
  • Sense and Sensibility, by Jane Austen:  A couple of years ago I re-read Pride and Prejudice, and then decided to re-read one of Jane Austen’s novels every February.  Why February?  Well, mostly because it’s such a bleak month and Austen cheers me up enormously.  It’s also my birthday month, so it’s like giving myself a present.  I have all of her works on my Kindle (the red volume in the stack).
  • Full House, by M.J. Farrell (Molly Keane): This is one of my favorite Virago authors, and this book is also on my Classics Club list.

And finally, when I’m ready I will visit my local library for:

  • Family Matters, by Rohinton Mistry:  I loved Mistry’s A Fine Balance, and have meant to read more of his work ever since.  Family Matters was shortlisted for the Booker Prize, so I expect good things.

So that’s it.  I’m off to get the coffee started and enjoy the rest of the weekend.  How about you?

What are you planning to read this month?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

13 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: My February Book Stack

  1. Nice books Laura! I am planning so far the second Pym in the read-along, “Excellent Women” and also the second Anthony Powell “A Buyer’s Market”. Apart from that I’m keeping my options open and following whims – which has just led me to start a rather wonderful (so far) non-fiction work called “Underground Overground” by Andrew Martin all about the history of the London Underground. It’s funny, interesting and informative, all in a slightly off-centre way which I’m liking very much so far.

    • Kaggsy, you can’t go wrong with Pym and Powell! And there’s much to commend in reading on a whim, it has certainly led you to some interesting discoveries. I look forward to hearing more about your current book.

    • Dollycas, I used to plan my reading even more than I do now — like months in advance! That was a bit much … These days I put together a monthly stack and read them in whatever order I choose. And sometimes I ignore them and read something entirely different! :)

    • I understand Karen. It’s also good to pace yourself on these series so you don’t get tired of them. It’s been months since I read the last one and that alone got me excited about diving in.

  2. Lovely selection . Reading Full House last year was my first Molly Keane and I loved it. I have Mad Puppetstown in my February pile.

    • Cat, I’ve loved everything by Molly Keane so far, and I own several more in Virago editions. I love working my way through an author’s work to see how their writing developed over their career.

    • Hi Diane, thanks for visiting. I’m looking forward to reading it. Well, really, the more I think about all of my February books the more excited I am about them. It’s shaping up to be a great month.

Comments are closed.