Play the Classics Spin!

The Classics Club is sponsoring a fun game called The Classics Spin.  Here’s how it works:

  • Pick twenty books unread books from your Classics Club List.
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Select the corresponding book from the list.
  • The challenge is to read that book by April 1, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading!

I honestly don’t think I have any “icky” books on my list, but there are have several I’ve put off because others caught my attention.  Some are Persephones, some are Viragos, and then there are some  miscellaneous classics.

  1. William, by Cicely Hamilton
  2. Mariana, by Monica Dickens
  3. Far Cry, by Emma Smith
  4. Greenbanks, by Dorothy Whipple
  5. The Shuttle, by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  6. Hudson River Bracketed, by Edith Wharton
  7. The Children, by Edith Wharton
  8. The Mother’s Recompense, by Edith Wharton
  9. Mandoa, Mandoa by Winifred Holtby
  10. The Misses Mallett, by E. H. Young
  11. Chatterton Square, by E. H. Young
  12. Family History, by Vita Sackville-West
  13. No Signposts in the Sea, by Vita Sackville-West
  14. The Beth Book by Sarah Grand
  15. Company Parade, by Storm Jameson
  16. Ethan Frome, by Edith Wharton
  17. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
  18. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  19. Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh
  20. The House in Paris, by Elizabeth Bowen

I wonder which one I’ll read in March?

UPDATE February 18:  The spin-o-meter chose #14!

19 thoughts on “Play the Classics Spin!

  1. This sounds like great fun (and you have a lovely selection of books there). It’ll be interesting to see which one you end up having to read!

    • kaggsy, somehow I neglected your comment — shame on me! In the past few days I’ve seen other lists posted and all the buzz has increased my excitement. I can’t wait for Monday to see which book I’ll be reading.

  2. An unusual list but an interesting take on the classics nevertheless Laura. I recognised many of the authors names though not the actual works. And I got all the way to 17 before I found some I had read.

    • Karen, the more I think about my list the more impatient I become for Monday, when I learn which book I will read. It’s actually making me more eager to read all of them.

  3. This does sound like fun – and I can’t decide if I’ll be joinin in too – I love your list – there are quite a few on it I have read and they are brilliant : )

  4. Pingback: Classics Spin « Several, Four, Many

  5. Some great stuff on your list — I see a lot of Edith Wharton AND Persephones, my favorites!! I liked William, and Englishman, and I LOVED Mariana, so I hope you get it. Ethan Frome is another favorite — tragic yet beautifully written. I also liked The Color Purple.

    • Karen K, there is a lot of Wharton isn’t there? She’s one of my favorite authors but I still have many of her books left to read. Glad to hear good things about some of my other choices too.

  6. What a fun idea. This looks like a great list of books. I’m familiar with many of them but Mandoa, Mandoa and the books by EH Young are new for me. I’m going to look them up as I love learning about new authors and books. I hope you’re excited to read the book that’s chosen. I’m excited for you to find out which one it is!
    “See” you tomorrow!

    • Amy, Mandoa Mandoa is by one of my favorite authors, Winifred Holtby. If you haven’t read any of her work yet I highly recommend South Riding which is considered her masterpiece.

  7. Pingback: Classics Club Spin – What’s Your Number? « No Thanks, I'd Rather Read

Comments are closed.