The Sunday Salon: Let’s Get Social

If you visited last week, you’ll know I joined the Great Google Reader Freak-out and obsessed about how to follow blogs in a post-Reader world.  I’m experimenting with a combination of Feedly and Twitter to find what works best for me.

And then I realized I was only considering one side of Google Reader’s demise: how would I follow blogs?  An equally important question is, how will current Reader subscribers follow me?  It’s community that makes blogging worthwhile!  Well, first let me be crystal clear:  you will still be able to follow this blog via RSS.  If you use Feedly, your transition from Google Reader will be seamless.  And any alternative RSS reader worth its salt will allow you to import your Reader subscriptions.

There are lots of other ways to find reviews and book chat, and everybody has a personal favorite.  So this week I took stock of the social part of my blog and did a little housekeeping.  You can find links to social sites over in my sidebar, beneath “Currently Reading” and my rating system.  Here’s a run-down:

LibraryThing is one of my favorite sites.  I joined to catalog my books, and found a wonderful community of like-minded readers.  I post book reviews on each book’s page, and on a personal thread in the 75 Books Challenge group.
@lindsayla18 I publish my blog posts on Twitter, re-tweet links to interesting articles, and occasionally tweet a random thought.  I really enjoy the conversational aspect of Twitter, too.

I’ve always published posts to my personal Facebook pageand will continue to do so, but this week I created a page just for the blog.  The content here is similar to Twitter.  I use the Hootsuite dashboard which makes it super easy to publish simultaneously on multiple social platforms.  So if you spend a lot of time on Facebook, I hope you’ll visit and “like” my page!


Follow Me on PinterestWith Pinterest, we digress from things bookish.  Yes, I pin the covers of books I read and review, but you’ll also find knitting, gardening, and cute cats and dogs. :)

This has nothing at all to do with books, unless you count the library of knitting books and magazines I’ve cataloged on Ravelry.  And links to recent blog posts appear on my profile.  But I know a lot of book bloggers also knit, and I’d love to be a Ravelry friend and chat about yarn, techniques, and creative projects.

I hope you’ll check these out — I look forward to “seeing” you!

Meanwhile, I’m still reading Doctor Thorne and At the Owl Woman Saloon.  I’m really ready for something new!

How about you — what are you reading this week?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

14 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Let’s Get Social

  1. Jenny and I have been vaguely discussing starting a Facebook page, too, largely because we’ve been wondering how many people are going to start mostly following blogs on Facebook. I don’t care for following blogs on FB, and it seems like it could be one more thing to administer, but if that’s the direction most people, it’s probably a good place to be. Hope it works out well for you!

    • Thanks Teresa. I created the page pretty much for the reasons you mention — I want to have multiple ways for people to follow, as long as the administration doesn’t get out of hand! The key for me is to be realistic about what I can do on all the different social platforms.

  2. I generally post a link to my blog on Facebook, but I stick to reviews for books that I think were especially interesting. I JUST started a Twitter account for my blog because I guess a lot of people might just switch to Twitter and not RSS feed me anymore (after the death of Google Reader). It’s hard, though, because I don’t have a smart-phone, and even if I did I wouldn’t want to have my nose constantly glued to it like so many people. I hate hanging out with friends when they can’t take their nose out of their phone. I think it’s a bit disrespectful! I don’t want to become one of those people.

    But….I’m rambling. :)

    My Sunday Salon

    • Rachel, when I first read your comment I laughed because I was in a situation where I had “my nose in the phone” … oops! But I agree with you — it’s worthwhile having a Twitter account and publishing your blog posts there, but I try to use Twitter when I have a “big screen” and limit my mobile use.

  3. Yeah Laura I might just stay with Google Reader till it switches over to Feedly … hopefully seamlessly. I’m a bit lazy in this regard not to be trying things out now, but let the revolt continue! cheers. http://www.thecuecard.com/

Comments are closed.