The Sunday Salon: My June Book Stack

Whew!  It’s hot here in Pennsylvania.  I know it’s June but we had a late — and very short! — spring.  My garden is going crazy, so this weekend I’ve spent the cooler morning hours tending to my vegetables and flowers.  I’m trying to squeeze in some reading time around all my usual weekend errands and chores.

Although May brought some stressful events on the personal front, it was a great month for reading, as expected.  My book stack included Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, my book of the year so far (read my review), and I discovered E.F. Benson’s Mapp and Lucia series (read my review of Queen Lucia).  Honestly, I don’t think I can top that but I’m still looking forward to working my way through June’s stack.

From top to bottom:

  • The View from Castle Rock, by Alice Munro: This is my book of short stories for June.  I have to say I didn’t get on well with Ms. Munro earlier this year, so I’m slightly apprehensive about this but we’ll see.  When I began writing this post I had a little last-minute scramble when I realized the first short story collection I chose was actually a novel.  Oops!  Back on the TBR pile it goes; I’ll get to it in a couple of months.
  • Framley Parsonage, by Anthony Trollope: This is the fourth in Trollope’s Chronicles of Barsetshire, which I have on my Kindle.  This is also on my Classics Club reading list.  I’m reading it now and it’s delightful.  Several characters have returned after a one-book hiatus, and it’s like running into old friends.
  • A Word Child, by Iris Murdoch: This book is also on my Kindle.  I’ve meant to read it all year, and it’s been on my monthly stack before, but I just haven’t been in the right mood for Iris.  Will June be different?
  • The Mother’s Recompense, by Edith Wharton: This Virago Modern Classic is also a Classics Club selection.  Wharton is one of my favorite authors and my last encounter with her was pretty abysmal (read my review of The Buccaneers here).  I hope this book is more true to form.
  • Revelation, by C.J. Sansom: Summer is a great time for mysteries, and I have so enjoyed the Matthew Shardlake series set in Tudor England.  This is the second to last book and the last one on my shelves.  I’m sure I’ll get hold of the last book eventually, but I’m in no hurry because then I won’t have any more left to read!

In May I was a little ambitious, and named one more book to read if I happened to have time.  Well, I didn’t get to it, so I will continue to “think ahead” and say, someday I’ll get to 2012 Booker Prize nominee The Lighthouse, by Alison Moore.  But if I’m honest with myself, that’s not likely to happen this month either!  I’ve really been neglecting my beloved prize nominees, but on the flip side I’ve read some pretty good stuff!

What book are you most looking forward to this month?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

16 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: My June Book Stack

  1. Nice books Laura! I am looking forward to all my scheduled reads, which are the two Pyms plus the next Powell in sequence. I’ve also committed to reading some Beat writers and two new Jack Kerouacs await which I’m quite excited about!

    • It sounds like you have a fine month ahead of you, too, Karen. I’ve already read this month’s Pyms so I’ll be watching from the sidelines.

  2. I envy you that Wharton : ) I have several Wharton TBR however including The Buccaneers – which I am now rather dreading. The Word Child was one of my favourite Murdoch’s and I also have revelation TBR on my kindle. I heartily recommend The Lighthouse too – I really liked it. Enjoy your June reads.

    • Ali, I have several Whartons in VMC editions (and am on the hunt for more), and someday I’d like to be able to say I’d read all her books. I’m glad you enjoyed the Murdoch. I can’t recall how this edition ended up on my Kindle but now that it’s there, I’ll feel guilty if I don’t read it. :)

    • harvee, Murdoch was such a prolific writer, even though I’ve read several of her books I feel I’ve only scratched the surface. Someday, someday …

    • I’m glad to have encouragement to read Munro. I’ve read a few of hers and liked some quite a bit and others not so much.

  3. Have you read The Tale of Time Being by Ruth Ozeki? My favorite so far in 2013.

    Lori Saporito 609.466.0990 home

    609.466.2886 office

    • Linda, I’m glad to have more encouragement for the Munro. I think it’s one of her better known books, so I’m hopeful. And yes, you really should have a go at Trollope!

  4. I’ve yet to dip into the Murdoch collection. I started the Black Prince once but it was a bit tough going and I just wasn’t in the mood. But I have The Sea The Sea on my TBR shelf

    • Karen, I found Murdoch to be an acquired taste, and it took a few books to really appreciate her work. But it was worth the effort.

Comments are closed.