The Sunday Salon: 2010 Reading Goals

Happy New Year, and welcome to the first Sunday Salon of 2010!  A few days ago I posted my 2009 year in review, one of my last posts on LiveJournal.  This is the first Sunday at my new blog home.  If you are reading this in an RSS feed, I hope you’ll click over and check out my new look.  Since it’s a new year, it’s time to share my 2010 reading goals.  I’ve blogged for 3 years now (my blogiversary is January 7), and each year my reading evolves in some new way.

This year I am being more selective than ever about time-based challenges.  As 2009 came to a close, my feed reader was overflowing with new opportunities listed on A Novel Challenge. There were a number of tempting gems, and I could have signed up for several with considerable overlap.  But sometimes I find it overwhelming to keep up with all the challenge blogs and Mr. Linkys.  So I held back, with only one new challenge and a couple of old favorites:

Perpetual challenges are really my favorites.  These have no time limit, and allow me to pursue longer-term goals.  This year I’m adding a personal “Belletrista Challenge,” to celebrate women writers from around the world.  Perpetual challenges will make up most of my reading in 2010:

And finally, a few more personal reading goals for 2010:
  • From my Stacks – read 10 books that have lain around my house the longest (based on LibraryThing data)
  • Just for Fun – read 10 books for any reason whatsoever.  These could be recommendations from friends, or new releases.
  • The Classics Circuit – be an active contributor, celebrating the classics by hosting blog tour stops.  On January 12, Edith Wharton will visit Musings.  I’ll also be participating in the Harlem Renaissance tour in February with a post featuring poet Langston Hughes.

Whew!  It will be a busy year, but having spent the time to craft these “New Year’s Reading Resolutions,” I’m really looking forward to all the great books and authors I’ll discover.  On Thursday (my blogiversary) I’ll be announcing a giveaway related to the new year.  If you’ve made resolutions for your 2010 reading, be sure to stop by and enter to win!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here

Bookmark and Share

8 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: 2010 Reading Goals

  1. I like perpetual challenges as well. I love children’s books, so I hope to work on creating a perpetual challenge this year that goes along with the book 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up. Maybe. I’ve never actually started a challenge and it seems a little, well, challenging, to start one. But maybe.

    • The Complete Booker is the only challenge I’ve ever hosted and as a perpetual challenge it’s pretty easy to maintain. This is the first year I’ve added a “timed challenge” option which takes a bit more effort to manage signups, Mr. Linkys for reviews, and so on. But still fun.

    • Thank you very much Wendy! Like you, I enjoy the year-end & new year thinking about my reading (but then I enjoy thinking about my reading just about anytime)!

      Have a great week.

Comments are closed.