The Sunday Salon: The Book Depository is my friend!

Hello everyone, welcome to my Salon on this cold January day.  I’m so done with winter … why isn’t it done with me?  Ah well, if there’s a plus side to all this cold weather it’s the opportunity to stay indoors and read. Last week I blogged about my 2010 reading goals.  I think I’m most excited about my Booker Prize reading:  if I read 10 Booker Prize winners in 2010, I’ll have read the entire winners list !

When I first realized my Complete Booker goal was in sight, I was actually more worried than excited.  Why?  Because some of the books I need to read are old and hard to find.  Three were especially elusive:

  • 1974 – Holiday (Stanley Middleton)
  • 1970 – The Elected Member (Bernice Rubens)
  • 1969 – Something to Answer For (P.H. Newby)

My local library didn’t have them, they had been on my Paperbackswap wishlist for two years, and copies on Amazon were often quite expensive.  Then, two well-read friends came to my rescue, offering to lend me their copies of Holiday and The Elected Member.  That was all well and good, but I kept remembering this post on The Complete Booker, where Lisa described paying 225 AUD to get her hands on a copy of Something to Answer For.  Well that just gave me the heebie-jeebies.  Would I be able to live with myself if I couldn’t read the very first Booker Prize winner?

Enter The Book Depository. I’d heard great things about this site (free worldwide shipping, for one!), but I hadn’t purchased anything from them yet.  I was browsing the site just after Christmas, when lo and behold, I discovered a Faber Finds edition of Something to Answer For.  It was $25 US, more than I’d usually pay for a paperback, but since I’m borrowing those other two books … and Santa hadn’t brought me any books … well, I think it was OK, don’t you?  The book arrived yesterday and I’m quite happy with it.  The Faber Finds edition was published in 2008, so it doesn’t have the “mildly groovy design” of Lisa’s vintage copy, but I’m so glad Faber is restoring “lost classics” such as this!  And I’m thankful for The Book Depository, both for their wide selection, and free shipping!

And that’s not the only exciting book-related happening this week.  I finished two books, both of which were 4 1/2-star reads (click here to read about The Post Office Girl; I’ll publish my review of The Reef on Tuesday).  And then, I celebrated my 3rd Blogiversary!  I’m hosting a giveaway to celebrate the new year, my new blog home, and my blogiversary.  Entries will be accepted through January 16 so be sure to leave a comment on the giveaway post if you’d like to enter the prize draw.

Did your week include any exciting bookish things ?  Did you read any interesting books?  Tell me about it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: The Book Depository is my friend!

  1. I had not heard of The Book Depository. They have good prices and can’t beat the free shipping. Thanks for the tip! Enjoy your Sunday!

  2. I’ve heard great things about The Book Depository, too, but still haven’t placed my first order. I’m sure it’s only a matter of time!
    You new blog looks great, BTW.

  3. The love love love The Book Depository. They’re great for when you want UK editions that haven’t been released in the US yet. 🙂

  4. Yay for completing your collection! I think I’ve unintentionally read about 1/3 of the Booker prize winners…I’ve signed up for the 6 winners level of the challenge this year, but I don’t think I’d ever even try to read them all! But you’ll have full bragging rights. 😀

    • Eva, I’ve been working on my Booker goal for a few years now — I started reading nominees casually about 10 years ago, and then 3 years ago I started The Complete Booker and decided to really go for it. I’ve read about 10-12 winners each year. I’ll be happy to accept the bragging rights!

Comments are closed.