Beadwork: Multi-Strand Necklace with Wood Beads

While this is primarily a book blog, occasionally I’d like to share some of my other interests. You all OK with that?  I hope so!  Read on …

I used to do a lot of needle point and cross-stitch, but my interest ebbs and flows, and I get frustrated with how long it can take to complete a project.  Not too long ago, I decided to try my hand at making jewelry.  I bought some books and a few tools, but when I tried to design my first project I got stuck.  My dear husband Chris came to my rescue at Christmas, presenting me with instructions & complete materials for two projects, both multi-strand necklaces.

A few days ago, I finished the first project: a Multi-Strand Necklace with Assorted Wood Beads, from Fire Mountain Gems.

What I learned:

  • Read the instructions through first and make sure you have everything you need.  The materials list for this project had one item listed incorrectly, and I had to place another order for the correct bead.
  • Stringing beads is pretty easy.
  • Two of the strands turned out longer than the others, but I didn’t know how to shorten it just a little bit without redoing the entire strand.  I decided not to worry about it!
  • I need to learn how to better hide the wire at each end of the strand.  There are little ends of wire sticking out in a few places.  Luckily these will only be visible to someone with an intense desire to examine my neck.

Here’s a slideshow of the project coming together, strand by strand:


Chris also made me a beautiful worktable and cabinet, which I have filled with all my supplies and tools.  Isn’t he talented?  For more photos and a description of how he made it, check out Combray Furniture Studio.

So, my first jewelry project went pretty well.  I’m looking forward to my next one!

Bookmark and Share

