Weekly Geeks: Award Time!

This is my first time participating in Weekly Geeks, in which book bloggers write about a specific theme.  I like having a prompt, and I like having an entire week to write about it!

This week’s prompt is inspired by the American Library Association’s award announcements on Monday, January 18th:  the 2010 winners of the Newbery, the Caldecott, the Printz, and the Coretta Scott King awards.  While I haven’t read many of these books lately, in looking over the archive of Newbery Medal and Honor Books, I recognized many winners from long ago, that played a formative role in my development as a reader during the 1960s and 70s:

And then there’s the Caldecott Medal, where my reminiscences were even more evocative.  Being an award for illustration, each title conjures up an image of the cover, or illustrations within the text.  These medal winners were some of my childhood favorites, and some 40 years later I can still see myself sitting cross-legged in my bedroom, slowly turning each page and marveling at the lines, the color, the figures …

I’ve read very few of the more recent award winners, but when my children were young I sought them out, especially for gifts.  The Newbery and Caldecott emblems were an automatic “seal of quality.”  My girls are now in their teens, but they have developed an appreciation for reading and literature that I’m sure will endure for their lifetime.  I like to imagine them looking back on these award lists someday, with memories just as fond as my own.

Bookmark and Share

4 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: Award Time!

  1. Great list! Mrs Frisby and the Rats of Nimh was one of my childhood favourites.

    I am amazed that Charlotte’s Web is from 1953. For some reason I thought it was published in the 80s.

    My boys are too young for these books at the moment, but I look forward to introducing them all as they get bigger.

  2. There are so many good Newbery books that I couldn’t fit them all in my post, so I’m glad someone gave a shout-out to A Wrinkle in Time, Charlotte’s Web and The Witch of Blackbird Pond! Great post, thanks for the link 🙂

  3. @Jackie, it’s really fun to introduce children to your own favorites. Although I found that sometimes my favorites didn’t resonate with them as well — couldn’t get my girls into Island of the Blue Dolphin or to save my life. But then we also discovered some other modern gems together, and that was fun!

    @Julie, I’d love to hear your assessment of Newbery reads someday. How far along are you?

    @KT, I know what you mean! Every time I read someone else’s post about childhood favorites I am reminded of ones I left off my list!

Comments are closed.