Teaser Tuesday: Sibilla Aleramo’s A Woman

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. The idea is to share a couple of “teaser” sentences from a random page in your current read. I’m reading Sibilla Aleramo’s A Woman, an early work of feminist literature.  It is autobiographical, describing a woman’s imprisonment in marriage and, later, independence.  Here’s my teaser:

On the seventh or eighth night after he was born, as I turned to the suckling baby murmuring words of love, I saw his childish face form a smile, a long, miraculous smile, full and splendid. It had such a powerful effect on me I thought I would faint.

page 64, A Woman, by Sibilla Aleramo

Bookmark and Share

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Sibilla Aleramo’s A Woman

  1. Just the quote made me think of a sappy Lifetime movie-ish book, but after learning this is from an early work of feminist literature, I think it’s so much more interesting.

Comments are closed.