Teaser Tuesday: Pat Barker’s The Eye in the Door

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. The idea is to share a couple of “teaser” sentences from a random page in your current read. I’m reading The Eye in the Door, the second novel in Pat Barker’s Regeneration trilogy, set during World War I.  Much of the plot concerns rehabilitation of soldiers dramatically affected by events at the front.  Here’s my teaser:

In a rational society, a man who spent his days like that wouldn’t have to spend his evenings, his own time, remember, with men who could perfectly well be left to get on with their own lives in their own way. The fact that he’s prepared to do it is a tribute to Head.

page 72, The Eye in the Door, by Pat Barker

Read my review of Regeneration

Bookmark and Share

8 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Pat Barker’s The Eye in the Door

  1. I just started my re-read of Regeneration this weekend, with the rest of the trilogy on one of the stacks beside the bedside table (I rather envy tidy readers who just have *a stack* on the bedside table): such an outstanding writer.

    • You’re right about Barker. The trilogy explores an aspect of World War I that I’d never considered, and it’s very powerful.

Comments are closed.