The Sunday Salon: Things can only get Better, Right?

It has been a pretty awful week.  Pardon me while I complain a bit.  I promise to end this post on a happier note.

My tale of woe began Monday, when I left home for a 3-day conference.  I brought only one book with me, a 500-page novel I had just started.  I knew I wouldn’t have time to finish it, so why pack another book?  Except it turned out I didn’t like the book.  So reading it was akin to reading cereal boxes, just because there’s no other reading material around.   I didn’t really have much free time, so it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.  Oh, and what was the book?  Read my review of Ben Okri’s The Famished Road.

On returning home Thursday, I started Miles Franklin’s My Brilliant Career, written when the author was just 16.  It seems promising, but I’m moving slowly.  Time has been scarce for some reason, but more significantly I’ve been unable to concentrate.  I was in a car accident Friday night on my way home from work.  I’m fine (and so is the other driver), but my car is a wreck and emotionally, well, I’m more wrecked than I expected to be.

Then on Saturday it rained the entire day.  And not just a light rain either, but a torrential downpour lasting for hours and hours, and flooding local rivers.  If I could have just curled up indoors with my book, I would not have minded the rain.  But earlier plans and obligations called for us to be out in the nastiness.  Driving from one place to another, parking far from entrances, etc … I felt like a drowned rat!

Saturday evening, things began to look a little brighter when my dear husband took charge of dinner and we enjoyed it with a decent bottle of wine.  So in an attempt to continue the upward trend, I thought I’d try this meme.  It’s helped me get some things out of my system, and made me think about the good things in life.

The I Like and I Don’t Like Meme

Wendy from Caribousmom tagged me for this. The rules are simple:  fill in the blanks after each bold word and tag 3 friends.  Here we go …

I like books 🙂
I like chocolate.
I like reconnecting with old friends.
I like intelligent conversation.
I like buying something nice for myself.
I like gardening.
I like warm, sunny days.
I like visiting other countries.
I like my local library.
I like music.
I like BBC Radio 3.
I like being a mom.
I love snuggling on the sofa with my dogs.
Today was one of the wettest days I’ve ever seen (referring to Saturday … it’s too early to talk about Sunday!)
I hate wasting money on things that turn out to be unnecessary.
I hate having to get my car repaired.
I hate cleaning the house.
I hate being late.
I hate hurting other people’s feelings.
I hate stress.
I hate closed-minded people.
I hate hate.
I (secretly) like sleeping late.
I love my husband and daughters, more than words can say!

And now I will pass this on to three others: Jill at The Magic Lasso, Raidergirl at An Adventure in Reading, and Florinda at The 3R’s Blog.

Here’s to a great week ahead.  What do you have in store?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Things can only get Better, Right?

  1. Laura…..this week has to be better. I’d be unable to concentrate as well. You do have many wonderful reasons to be happy for sure …chin up 🙂

  2. It’s been awhile since I’ve been over here (used to visit you when you were on LiveJournal). Didn’t realize it was you until I went to “About This Blog.” Glad to have found you again.

    Anyway, on to my actual comment on your post: Rain here in the upper part of the state too yesterday and continuing today, although just cloudy today. I’m with you on most of the things on your list in that I like books, chocolate, reconnecting with old friends, intelligent conversation, warm, sunny days, my local library (especially after starting to work there part-time). And I hate hate too. 🙂 Sorry about your accident and your choice of book. Hope this week will go better in terms of both driving and books.

  3. OMG, Laura – what a horrific time you’ve had. SO glad you were not injured in the car wreck!!!

    Here’s to a great week ahead – and I enjoyed reading the meme answers 🙂

Comments are closed.