Teaser Tuesday: A History of Their Own

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. The idea is to share a couple of “teaser” sentences from a random page in your current read. I’m reading A History of Their Own, Volume I, which is a comprehensive view of women in Europe from prehistory to the present time. Here’s my teaser (I had to use 3 sentences for it to make sense):

Not only did the church restrict and confine women, but the facts of their past achievements and authority were ridiculed. The woman remembered for exceptional learning, piety, and power was not Lioba, Saint Hilda, Herrad of Landsberg, or Hildegard of Bingen.  Instead the fantasy of a thirteenth-century French Dominican, Steven of Bourbon, was passed on from generation to generation, the tale of the fictitious Pope Joan.

page 193, A History of Their Own, Volume I, by Bonnie S. Anderson & Judith P. Zinsser

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: A History of Their Own

  1. Sounds like an important, powerful read! (And I’ve always wanted to learn more about Pope Joan.)

    My teaser for this week is here!

Comments are closed.