1% Well-Read III (April, 2010 – April, 2011)

Once again, it’s time for the 1% Well-Read Challenge, hosted by 3M at 1morechapter.com.  In this challenge, participants read from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list.  There has been yet another update to the list in 2010, so this time the challenge has only one option:

Read 13 titles from the combined list (of 1294 titles) from April 1, 2010 through April 30, 2011.

I’ve been a regular participant in this challenge, and my 2010 Reading Goals included 10 books from the 2008 list.  So I’ll start with those and add to the list as needed:

  1. The Ghost Road, by Pat Barker (review)
  2. What I Loved, by Siri Hustvedt (review)
  3. How Late it Was, How Late by James Kelman (review)
  4. The Master, by Colm Toibin (review)
  5. Faceless Killers, by Henning Mankell (review)
  6. Life & Times of Michael K, by J.M. Coetzee (review)
  7. The Bell, by Iris Murdoch (review)
  8. A Dry White Season, by Andre Brink
  9. The Man who Loved Children, by Christina Stead
  10. Remembering Babylon, by David Malouf
  11. An Artist of the Floating World, by Kazuo Ishiguro
  12. The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood
  13. The Portrait of a Lady, by Henry James
2 thoughts on “1% Well-Read III (April, 2010 – April, 2011)

  1. I read The Hours earlier in the year, and absolutely loved it. Have you read Mrs. Dalloway? I read it just before, and it had a massive impact on how I read The Hours.

    I want to read How Late It Was, How Late and The Life and Times of Michael K. Hopefully, will read Michael K this year.

    • I read Mrs Dalloway, but it was probably a couple of years ago. I could see where it would make sense to read it back-to-back with The Hours … and then see the movie!

Comments are closed.