The Sunday Salon: First Quarter Wrap-up

Happy Easter, everyone!  It’s been a really beautiful weekend in southern Chester County, Pennsylvania:  great weather for gardening and egg-hunting.  And, with March behind us, it’s time for a look back at my reading during the first quarter of 2010.

I read 19 books, 14 written by women.  This amounted to 5,574 pages, which would have been higher but for two “DNF” reads.  I’m making decent progress on several of my 2010 reading goals.  I’ve read:

  • 3 of the 5 books needed to complete the Women Unbound Challenge.
  • 2 of 10 Booker Prize winners (well, OK, these were my two “DNF” reads!)
  • 3 of 8 Orange Prize nominees
  • 2 of 10 for the Book Awards IV challenge
  • 3 of 12 Virago Modern Classics
  • 2 of 10 from the 1001 Books you Must Read Before you Die list

I also read 4 books from my stacks, and 2 “just for fun.”  And I have thoroughly enjoyed reading 3 books for The Classics Circuit.  I’m signed up for two more tours and I expect to contribute regularly for the rest of the year.

And finally (drum roll), my First Quarter 2010 Top 5, in the order I read them (4 out of 5 were read in January, isn’t that weird?)

Click on the title to read my review:

Did you write a first quarter wrap-up piece?

What were your favorite books?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

