Teaser Tuesday: Stanley Middleton’s Holiday

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. The idea is to share a couple of “teaser” sentences from a random page in your current read. I’m reading Stanley Middleton’s Holiday, the 1974 Booker Prize winner.  The protagonist, Edwin, is on a seaside holiday following a recent marriage breakup.  Here’s my teaser:

Viewed from a yard or two’s distance on the beach or in the house she was attractive, the belle. Now she approached, she changed, coarsened into the typist-suburban housewife who talked inanities or ironed in semi-detached houses the country over.

page 57, Holiday, by Stanley Middleton

Bookmark and Share

5 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Stanley Middleton’s Holiday

  1. Doesn’t sound like a protagonist I would have too much sympathy for. I hope you are enjoying the story. My TT is from The Seventh Witch and can be found here

Comments are closed.