The Sunday Salon: A Quiet Week of Satisfying Reads

Welcome back everyone!

Is it just me, or has this been a quiet week in the blogosphere?  It seems like there’s been fewer posts on blogs I follow, and fewer comments on my posts.  I know it’s spring break for a lot of people, and maybe folks were storing up energy for this weekend’s Read-a-Thon.  I’ve never done the Read-a-Thon, although I enjoy reading updates from those who do.  Hope you have all enjoyed yourselves!

I finished two books this week, both Booker Prize winners, and both very good.  The first was The Ghost Road, by Pat Barker.   The third and last book in the Regeneration Trilogy won the Booker Prize in 1995.  The complete trilogy is a very moving protest of war, emphasizing the tragic impact on veterans.  I highly recommend it!  If you’d like to learn more, read my review of The Ghost Road; you’ll also find links to reviews of the first two books in the series.

I then moved on to the 1974 Booker Prize winner, Holiday by Stanley Middleton.  Typically the prize is awarded to only one novel, but in 1974 Middleton shared the prize with Nadine Gordimer (for her novel, The Conservationist).  Finding Middleton’s book proved challenging:  my library didn’t have it, and ordering online was prohibitively expensive.  When I learned a dear friend on LibraryThing owned a copy, I couldn’t believe my luck.  She let me borrow the book, and I’m so glad she did — first, because without her help I would have been unable to make my goal of reading all Booker Prize winners.  And second, because it was very good!  In Holiday, a man whose marriage has just collapsed goes on a seaside holiday to get away from it all and come to terms with his situation.  I really enjoyed it; here’s my review of Holiday.

My current read is Émile Zola’s Thérèse Raquin, which I’m reading for the Classics Circuit “Paris in the Springtime” Tour.  Zola will visit this blog on April 15, so you can stop back then and read my review.  I’m also planning a fun Midweek @ Musings post with tips on a challenge many bloggers face.  Is that enough of a teaser for you?  See you on Wednesday!

What did you read this week? What are you reading now?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: A Quiet Week of Satisfying Reads

  1. I’m still annoyed by the fact that I have The Ghost Road on my bookshelf but not the second one… However I do have three new Bookers on my shelf so it will be hard to pick which one to read next…

    Glad Holiday was a treat!

    • Ah yes, I read your post about spring cleaning earlier today! I admire you for going after that … I have not been similarly inspired. 🙂

Comments are closed.