The Sunday Salon: May Wrap-up

Welcome to the Sunday Salon, end of May edition.  It’s a holiday weekend here in the US, and I’ve enjoyed the fine weather by spending time out in my garden.  My lettuce has taken off, and we’re enjoying lots of fresh salads.  The first peas should be ready for eating within the week.  Carrots seem to have failed me this year, but the garden still holds much promise for the rest of the season.

So it’s time to reflect on the past month, reading-wise.  I was back in form (compared to April), reading 7 books, or 2177 pages (revised May 31: 8 books, 2483 pages).  Here’s a run-down, with links to my reviews:

Only one of these books was total crap (The Old Devils).  My best reads this month were Let the Great World Spin and Runaway.

Now I’m reading Isabel Allende’s Eva Luna, and enjoying it very much.  I’ve read many of her books, but it’s been a long time and I’d forgotten how wonderful her writing is.  After that I’ll move on to Lady Audley’s Secret, by Mary Elizabeth Braddon, which is part of a group read on LibraryThing.  This looks like a good summer read, and I’m looking forward to it.  Also on tap for June are a Booker Prize winner, the 2010 Pulitzer Prize winner, a book from the “1001” list, and a non-fiction book that will complete my list for the Women Unbound Challenge.  Since the challenge doesn’t end until November, I may just have to read some more books for “extra credit”!

Have you read any of the books I mentioned?  Any favorites or clunkers?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: May Wrap-up

  1. The weather here has been perfect too. I’m sorry to see the weekend end already. I am glad you are getting such good food out of your garden!

    I am looking forward to reading Let the Great World Spin, hopefully this year for the Vietnam War Challenge.

    I hope you have a great week, Laura!

    • Thanks Wendy, nice to hear from you. I’ll send you some of my zucchini later on in the season (my husband and I always disagree on how much to plant, and end up drowning in it)!!

    • I’m #30 in my library queue for Tinkers, but fortunately they have 13 copies so I’m hoping it will move along quickly!

  2. I’m sorry to say that I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned. It looks like you had a great month though.

    • Thanks Iris … it wasn’t a bad month. I’d rather have a month filled with 4 or 4.5-star reads, but that can’t happen all the time!

  3. What a great collection of May reads. I’ve read the Munro, Sinclair and Fadiman and share your interest in Allende but this one is still unread on my shelves. I must have first read her House of the Spirits in the summertime though because I always think of reading her when the weather gets good and hot!

    • Thanks Nymeth … I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and although I’ve only read about 30 pages so far, I’m enjoying it.

Comments are closed.