Midweek @ Musings: Orange you glad July is coming soon?

I borrowed today’s title from that old and awful knock-knock joke (orange you glad I didn’t say banana?) … it popped into my head as I was thinking about

ORANGE JULY!

This event, and its January companion, are the brainchild of Jill at The Magic Lasso, who also hosts The Orange Prize Project challenge blog.  Twice each year, Jill rallies bloggers, LibraryThing members, and pretty much anyone who will listen to her, to  spend a month reading Orange Prize winners and nominees.  Participants commit to reading at least one book (more information here).

I’m a huge fan of the Orange Prize, having read all the winners through 2009.  I’m now working my way through the shortlists. I’ve read 19 so far, including three during Orange January.  My July reading will be almost entirely devoted to the Orange Prize.  Here’s my reading list:

  • 2010 winner (to be announced June 9 … squeee!)
  • 2010 shortlist selection
  • The Invention of Everything Else, by Samantha Hunt (2009 shortlist)
  • Burnt Shadows, by Kamila Shamsie (2009 shortlist)
  • The Outcast, by Sadie Jones (2008 shortlist)

I may squeeze in another book, if time permits.  Regardless, I’m very excited about this lineup.   I love the idea of a prize focused entirely on women authors, and I really enjoy devoting an entire month to the prize.  Even though I have some great reads planned for June, my mind keeps jumping ahead to what’s in store for July.  Bring it on!

Are you planning to take part in Orange July?

Come  join the fun!

Bookmark and Share

8 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: Orange you glad July is coming soon?

  1. LOL! I love the line about “pretty much anyone who will listen to me”! Truer words couldn’t be spoken about my passion for the Orange! Great post and thanks for promoting!

    • Well you know, some of my very favorite books are ones I’ve read for Orange Jan/July. And the Orange books are great for summer. I wouldn’t miss it for the world!

  2. I’m afraid that by July I will be Oranged out! If it was Orange May then I’d have been very successful 🙂

    I have read all the books you plan to read in July. I wasn’t a big fan of any of them, but I suspect you’ll enjoy a few more than I did. Enjoy!

    • Jackie, I can understand being “oranged out” — you have been on a real marathon of late. I haven’t chosen my 2010 shortlist book to read in July, but your reviews have been most helpful in getting a sense of which ones I’d like to read (now or later).

  3. I’m definitely taking part but will probably only read a couple of books (whereas I’d hoped to read more). All those you’ve mentioned are still on my TBR list: they look very tempting.

    I’m aiming for Zadie Smith’s On Beauty, paired with its Forster companion. I’ve started her novel three times and gotten stuck each time (my fault, not hers), so I’m determined to finish it this summer!

  4. Laura – I don’t know why this wasn’t on my horizons before, but I will definitely get in on this next month! My charity shop hopping has resulted in quite a pile of Orange prize winners waiting for me on my shelf.

    Is Kingsolver up next for you? 🙂

    • I’m glad you’re going to join the fun! If I stick with my plan as outlined in this post, then yeah, I’ll be reading Kingsolver. I’m a bit intimidated by the length of the book but I do want to read it. Hopefully the library queue won’t be too long.

Comments are closed.