Midweek @ Musings: Wishing


This week’s post is inspired by the latest prompt from Weekly Geeks:

Is your wishlist as big as your TBR pile? What books are topping your list? Are there any new releases that you are counting down the days for? Share a handful of titles and be sure to share why you want to get your hands on these books! And if another blogger is responsible for that book being on your wishlist, consider sharing a link to their review!

My wishlist is quite different from my TBR pile.  My TBR pile represents books I want to read, and may not own now or ever.  My wishlist is for books I want to own, and my book-buying habits have changed a lot over the years. Once upon a time, if I wanted to read a book I’d rush over to the bookstore and buy it.  And I’d buy a couple more on that “3 for 2” table in the front. A trip to the bookstore made for an exciting Friday night when our children were young:  Browse.  Buy.  Then Amazon made it much easier:  Wish.  Click. Buy.

About five years ago, my buying habits changed dramatically.  There was no grand epiphany; I just discovered more economical sources.  We no longer live near a big-box book retailer, but I discovered several used bookstores within a short drive.  I also discovered Paperbackswap, which is ideal for me since I rarely re-read books.  Finally, my local library system is a treasure trove — I’m amazed at what they have in circulation.

Today, when I learn about a book I’d like to read, the first place I look is my library.  If they don’t have it, I check Paperbackswap, and request it if it’s available.  If I can’t find it through those two sources, onto the wishlist it goes!  I have two wishlists, with slightly different purposes:

  • My Paperbackswap Wishlist:  My PBS wishlist includes a few titles that are not available through my library, and I don’t feel like buying (at least not yet).   But mainly, this wishlist is a vehicle for passively collecting Virago Modern Classics.  Virago Press published over 500 of these, and my collection currently stands at 128.  I prefer the older editions.  Every once in a while, a PBS member posts a title and voila, I snag it.  I’ve made a number of acquisitions this way, steadily building my collection over the past few years.  You can view the wishlist by going to my Paperbackswap profile page.
  • My LibraryThing Wishlist:  This list is reserved for books that I can’t find used or in my library, reference books, and “special” books I really want to own and cherish.  This is the list I give out to friends looking for gift ideas.  At this very moment, my wishlist includes a book on dog training that came highly recommended from a LibraryThing member, a vegetarian cooking book I might want to try when the weather gets colder, and several newer, notable books that have garnered a lot of press on LibraryThing and in the blogosphere.  Here are just a few of recent additions to my LibraryThing wishlist (click on the cover for details):

What are you wishing for?

Bookmark and Share

6 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: Wishing

  1. My library has always been my first port of call for anything on my wish list and they have rarely let me down. However, our local council is in a terrible financial mess at the moment (what so new about that:)) and they have decreed that there will be no more new books bought for the libraries in the foreseeable future. This has caused great consternation in this household, I can tell you. And when will they reverse the policy? I can see our library system stopping at 2009 and never taking up again.

  2. I take the opposite approach, I guess. My wishlist is made up of books I’d like to own (and read, obviously – but I’m not much of a library-user these days), but the TBR is made up of books I actually DO own, regardless of how I got them. Since the TBR is much larger than the wishlist, clearly I don’t restrain my book acquisition very much!

  3. I have a very long wishlist, but I’m trying to stop myself from rushing out to buy the books and looking through bookmooch a lot more. Sometimes it works, but it’s not often that a book is available to my country. Overall, my wishlist is simply incredibly long.

    • Iris, you have a unique challenge in finding the books you are interested in! I am sure if I lived in another country I would buy far more — I’d be so excited to find something available that I would feel compelled to own it!

Comments are closed.