The Sunday Salon: July Wrap-up (a record month!)

July was an absolutely amazing month. First of all, it was Orange July, and I had a wonderful time reading the 2010 Orange Prize winner and four shortlisted nominees.  I also had great fun writing about Orange July in my Midweek @ Musings posts.  And I would have been happy with that, but thanks to two weeks off from work, I had a lot more time for reading.  I read 11 books, waaaay more than average and, in fact, more than I’ve ever read in a single month.  Granted, two of the books were very short, but my page count also set a new monthly record.  Honestly, I don’t know how it happened!  Here’s what I read in July (links take you to my reviews):

If you read last week’s post, you’ll notice I was actually able to squeeze in all three books I was considering … what a treat!  All 11 books were all pretty good reads, ranging from 3 to 4.5 stars.  My favorites were The Outcast and Flush.  They couldn’t have been more different from each other, but both left a lasting impression and I highly recommend them!

August promises to be a more typical reading month.  My first book will be The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which I’ve really been looking forward to.  I’ll also be reading some Edith Wharton for a LibraryThing group read, and a couple of books I read about in Belletrista.  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on my progress!

What was your favorite book in July?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

11 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: July Wrap-up (a record month!)

  1. Hi, Laura! Can you believe it’s August? July was a great reading month for me too, of course! =) Bel Canto by Ann Patchett was my favorite book from July. I need to discover more books by this talented author.

    Happy Sunday!
    Jill

  2. 11 books is a lot for me as well. And I really enjoyed reading all your thoughts on the Orange books. I hope you’re August will be another good month!

    • Iris, thanks for your comment. I’m looking forward to all of my August reads as well, they are a good mix of fiction genres (classic, mystery, etc.) with a bit of nonfiction thrown in.

    • Hmmm, Jackie, July was really an outlier (and I have the graphs to prove it!). I do have a week off from work in August, which usually affords me a bit more reading time, although we are planning a family trip so who knows. In any case, I have a nice lineup of books ahead of me that I’m very much looking forward to reading.

  3. Hi, Laura. Yay to you for a wonderful July. Mine was, well, I loved a lot of books, but the rest left me feeling Meh — I’ve read The Invention of Everything Else this month to. How’d you find it?

    • Sasha, thanks for visiting! The Invention … was one of the books that left me feeling “meh”, just 3 stars. I’m going to check out your blog and see what you’ve been reading!

      • I thought it was Meh: Imagine my sigh of relief when you said so too, haha. It had such an intriguing premise — but it just fizzled out.

Comments are closed.