The Sunday Salon: In Which I Read Very Little, but Enjoyed it

This was a slow reading week for me, but for a good reason: we took a family trip to New York City.  We live just a few hours away, and it’s easy to drive partway and then take the train into the city.  Our hotel was in the middle of the theater district, which was an excellent location.  We did, in fact, go to the theater — twice.  We also did plenty of shopping (a required activity for both of my teen daughters), and some touristy activities like visiting Ellis Island and the Museum of Modern Art.  It was a very active vacation, and thoroughly enjoyable.

Each night, somewhere between putting my feet up and nodding off, I managed to read a bit of The Elected Member, by Bernice Rubens.  I’ve had trouble with other early Booker Prize winners:  I hated In a Free State, and couldn’t finish G.  But The Elected Member was a very pleasant surprise (read my review).

And now, just after returning from New York, I’m reading a book set in that city: Edith Wharton’s The Custom of the Country.  It’s wonderfully satirical and I’m really enjoying it.  I chose this book for an Edith Wharton group read on LibraryThing.  And since my edition is a Virago Modern Classic, it counts towards my goal of reading one VMC per month.  I should be able to squeeze in two more books this month:  Tirra Lirra by the River (a Miles Franklin Prize winner), and Helen Dunmore’s The Siege.  The latter caught my eye after this year’s Booker Prize longlist announcement.  You may recall my difficulty getting hold of Dunmore’s The Betrayal.  Fortunately the book came back in stock, The Book Depository honored the original price, and it’s on the way to me now.  The Betrayal is a sequel to The Siege, and I really didn’t want to read them out-of-order (*shudder*).  Several fellow readers have found both books unputdownable, so I am really looking forward to diving into these books.

What are you reading this week?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

8 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: In Which I Read Very Little, but Enjoyed it

  1. Did you get to see the Matisse exhibit at MoMA? I really wanted to see that while I was in NYC for BlogHer, but missed doing so.

    Sounds like you had a great visit to the city!

  2. I’m reading Edith Wharton, too! Finished Summer last weekend and have Ethan Frome ready for a reread. The Custom of the Country is my favorite though – Undine is such a memorable character. I’ve also started Bleak House for Amanda’s read-along.

Comments are closed.