The Sunday Salon: Holiday Weekend Reading and September Plans

It’s been an absolutely gorgeous weekend here in southeastern Pennsylvania.  We’ve had a blistering hot summer, with temperatures rising into the 90s all too often.  But Saturday’s temperatures peaked around 75, and it was sunny and mild.  Just perfect for a relaxing long holiday weekend.

I’ve been looking forward to reading this weekend, because the past week was a busy one.  My daughters went back to school, which also meant attending parents night on Wednesday. My workweek was packed full, including a dinner meeting and an evening conference call.  While it was all worthwhile, it really reduced my free time!

But I was still able to read The Siege, even though it took longer to finish than I would have liked.  It’s a marvelous novel, shortlisted for the Orange Prize, and very moving (read my review).  On Saturday, I began reading J.G. Farrell’s Troubles, which earlier this year was awarded the Lost Booker Prize.  It’s a bit quirky but enjoyable, and I should make good progress before returning to work on Tuesday.

I have 5 more books lined up to read during the rest of September.  On Saturday, I picked up two books from the library:

  • Cold Earth, by Sarah Moss:  I read a review in Belletrista, and it sounded fascinating.
  • Life & Times of Michael K, by J.M. Coetzee: another Booker Prize winner, part of my nearly complete pursuit to read all winners

And then, patiently waiting on my shelves are:

  • Postcards, by Annie Proulx
  • The Bell, by Iris Murdoch:  I love Iris Murdoch, and this book is on the “1001” list
  • Precious Bane, by Mary Webb: a Virago Modern Classic

Have you read any of these books?

What books do you look forward to reading this month?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

11 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Holiday Weekend Reading and September Plans

  1. Sounds like a lovely weekend, Laura! Summer has all but disappeared here and there is a slight chilly suggestion of the onset of Autumn.

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on all of those books but particularly the Coetzee and Murdoch, both of which I have on my own TBR.

    I’ve been reading on a whim lately so leaving my reading options open. I do have a reread of Geek Love for book group, a reread of Great Expectations in progress and the arrival of both the new Armistead Maupin novel (proof) and Summer by Edith Wharton to keep me occupied.

    • Claire, I hope to give you a full report on the Coetzee within a week! Love the idea of reading on a whim … can’t wait to read your thoughts on Summer since, as you know, I’m planning to read that soon myself.

    • Marieke, the only other book of hers that I’ve read is The Shipping News, which I enjoyed and agree it had a lot under the surface. I’m looking forward to Postcards.

  2. You have one of my favorites and one of my least favorites on your list for September. I love Postcards. I thought it was brilliant. But I did not like the Coetzee book at all. I am interested to know what you think of it.

    • RCR, I’ve read two other books by Coetzee — one I liked a bit, the other was a DNF. So I am approaching this one with some trepidation !

  3. Your September books look like a good combination. I quite enjoyed that Murdoch novel (one of my favourites of hers) and think you will too. I’ve read two other Mary Webb books; I’ve found they take some slowing-down on my part, but then there is something singularly delightful about them. I hope to read them all over time!

    • I appreciate your comments on my September plans — especially about the Murdoch, since I don’t know anyone else who’s read that book. And it’s also helpful to know that Mary Webb may take some slowing-down; I will bear that in mind.

Comments are closed.