The Sunday Salon: I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date!

Oh dear!  I don’t have much time to write this weekend, because I really must read (in addition to all the other activities that beckon during the holiday season)!

You see, The Classics Circuit’s Anthony Trollope tour starts tomorrow.  My post is scheduled for Saturday, December 11.  I signed up to write a review of Barchester Towers.  And it’s 533 pages.  And I just started it on Saturday.  And that means I need to read 76 pages per day.  Hmmm.  I think I should have started reading earlier. 😯

Well, there’s not much I can do about it now.  I’ve decided I can always write thoughts on Barchester Towers instead of a full review.  Right?

But you know, it’s not like I’ve wasted my time lately.  This past week when I wasn’t reading Barchester Towers, I was reading one of only four 5-star reads this year.  Winifred Holtby’s South Riding was a simply wonderful story with strong female protagonists, and more than one plot twist that took it well beyond the “romance set in the English countryside” genre.  The BBC is releasing a dramatization early next year, which will air on PBS Masterpiece in the US in May.  I can’t wait!  Read my review of South Riding to learn more about this fabulous book and winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize.

So now, back to reading Barchester Towers, in hopes of having something to say in a week’s time.  In keeping with the title of this post, I wanted to leave you with a bit of white rabbit imagery, a la Disney.  Instead I found this really trippy version set to Jefferson Airplane’s White Rabbit.  The rabbit makes his appearance at about 0:57.  Sadly, due to copyright issues you can’t play the video right here on the blog, but you can click-through to YouTube.  Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date!

  1. Hi Laura

    Good luck with the book. You’ve inspired me! Last night after a nice 2 hr night hike, I got into bed and read a book I’d started months ago. It felt great to have a nice cup of tea and a good book. Truth be told though – I got sleepy after about 30 min, but that’s a great start.

    All the best and thanks for inspiring me to get back to reading!

  2. Thanks for the reminder to get started on my Trollope book too! I have a few more days than you (and a few less pages), but I’m starting to feel the pressure!!!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Salon – December 5, 2010 – caribousmom

Comments are closed.