Midweek @ Musings: Welcome to Orange January

It’s time once again for Orange January!  In January and July, readers dance around the Orange tree … no, wait, that’s not it!  We actually spend these two months reading Orange Prize winners and nominees.  Over the years “OJ/J” has become increasingly social, with its own Facebook Group and an Orange January/July group on LibraryThing.  I love discussing the prize, and comparing reading lists with other participants.  In the LibraryThing group we found several people were planning to read the same book, so we’ll have some group reads going as well.

I’ve read all the Orange Prize winners and am working my way through the shortlists (see my Orange Prize page for details).  Fortunately my local library is well-stocked with orangey goodness!  I’m reading four shortlisted works in January:

  • Everyman’s Rules for Scientific Living, by Carrie Tiffany:  This was recommended to me by blogger Buried in Print.  I actually started this in December, and finished it on New Year’s Day!  Click here to read my review.
  • Lottery, by Patricia Wood:  another Buried in Print recommendation, this book is about a young man with very low IQ who wins the lottery.  I enjoyed this one a bit more than Everyman’s Rules, and you can read my review here.
  • Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood: This is one of the group reads on LibraryThing.  It was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize, so I can check off two lists at the same time!  By complete coincidence my daughter borrowed a copy from her English teacher to read over the holidays.  She hasn’t finished it yet and seems reluctant to let it out of her clutches, so I borrowed a copy from my local library.  I’ll have more to say about Alias Grace next week.
  • The Colour, by Rose Tremain:  I picked this up in a used bookshop a few months ago.  Despite my lukewarm response to Music and Silence, I’ve enjoyed other books by Rose Tremain and am looking forward to reading this one, too.

I’m really excited about these books and look forward to sharing my thoughts with you as I read them.

What are you planning to read for Orange January?

