4 years old today!

Musings is 4 years old today!

My daughters are great kids, but I have especially fond memories of them at 4 years old.  Suddenly they transformed from a baby into a person.  And now this blog has reached a similar milestone, growing from a baby during its first years on LiveJournal, into something more fully formed here.  So on my 4th “blogiversary,” I thought I’d look back at the past year, and share some thoughts about the year ahead.

Looking back

Last weekend, the “stats helper monkeys” at WordPress.com provided me with a whole mess of data about my blog in 2010.  This was my first year on WordPress, and here’s what I have to show for it:

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 10,000 times in 2010. That’s about 24 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 195 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 197 posts.

The busiest day of the year was November 24th with 94 views. The most popular post that day was Midweek @ Musings: If you give a blogger a cookie ….

These posts and pages had the most views in 2010:

I also expanded my relationships in the blogging community.  I enjoyed the interaction on this blog, discovered lots of great blogs, and kept up with some old favorites (check out my complete blogroll in the sidebar).

Looking ahead

Those sweet little things pictured above are now 18 and 15 years old, and have matured into intelligent, confident young women.  Now, I don’t know if this blog will ever reach the ripe old age of 15 (!!), but I do know it will mature over time and I want it to be something I’m proud of.  My blogiversary is a good time to find ways to build on what I’ve created here so far.  Last year I created a Blog Improvement To-Do List.  This year I have just a couple of broad resolutions:

Strengthen connections with classics bloggers. Something interesting happened in 2010 —  most of my new connections were people who enjoyed reading classics.  Bloggers like Paperback Reader, cardigangirlverity, Book Snob, Buried in Print, Iris on Books, and Stuck in a Book enriched my reading through their love of classic literature.  Most of them read other genres as well, but generally speaking, we read more “older” fiction than newly published works.  This insight helped me define my own blogging niche.  In 2011 I want to strengthen these relationships and build new ones.

Experiment with new types of content: Last year I established a “blogging rhythm,” creating my Midweek @ Musings feature, and taking part in The Sunday Salon.  In 2011 I’d like to bring more variety and creativity to those posts.  I like the way Florinda at The 3 R’s Blog curates content for her readers, pulling together links she finds around the interwebs.  And I think it would be fun to have more “book chat,” like comparing two books, or a book and a movie.  I’m open to ideas, so feel free to leave suggestions in the comments.

Thanks for reading and commenting over the past year.  Here’s to a great 2011!

14 thoughts on “4 years old today!

  1. Happy 4th birthday, Laura! Look how adorable your daughters were! You lucky mummy!

    It’s been a pleasure to read your blog this year and I look forward to us finding each other of mutual inspiration in 2011!

  2. Happy blogiversary! We’re almost twins. 🙂 And my niece is four right now: it’s insane how much older she seems.

    I want to read much more older fiction this year too, and I love the ‘older books’ blogging niche. My interest in international authors and nonfiction means I’m unlikely to ever quite fit in, but I enjoy dabbling! 😉

    I’ve just decided on a new blogging rhythm, so I’ll probably spend the first few months getting settled in it. But I added a few more ‘features’ towards the end of 2010 that I’m really enjoying exploring! So I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

    • Eva, I know what you mean about never quite fitting in. I read contemporary prize winners & nominees, and some international literature as well. I know what I don’t do: I don’t make my reading choices based on the latest bestseller list, and I read very few ARCs. On the one hand, I like to be able to define the areas I’m interested in, but on the other hand I don’t want to put myself in a box!

  3. Happy blogiversary! We were born the same year – my blog will turn 4 in March :-). And I’ve dropped that ball on the link roundups lately, but I’m working on getting back to them.

    I’ll look forward to seeing what new directions you decide to pursue this year!

Comments are closed.