The Sunday Salon: Introducing my Favorite Authors

Welcome to another Sunday!  This week I returned to work after a 2-week vacation, which meant less time for reading and blogging.  But I still managed to celebrate my 4th blogiversary, and I added something new to the site: my Favorite Authors.  These are the writers whose work I’ve enjoyed so much, that I wish I could put the rest of my life on hold and read through their complete oeuvre (Buried in Print coined the phrase “MRE authors,” for must read everything).  I started with four (coincidentally, one for each year of blogging):  Winifred Holtby, Iris Murdoch, Elizabeth Taylor, and Edith Wharton.

If you’re reading this in a feed reader, I suggest you click-through now … thanks.  You’ll notice I added a Favorite Authors option to the menu running across the top of the page.  Hover over that, and you’ll see drop-down menus for each author.  Each author page includes a short biography, sometimes links to other resources, and then reviews of each book I’ve read.  Even though I’ve only read one book by Winifred Holtby (South Riding), she qualified as a favorite author instantly, and I plan to read Anderby Wold later this month.   Since these are “MRE authors,” you can expect the lists of reviews to grow over time.   I hope you’ll visit these pages, and let me know what you think!

Today I’m still reading Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace, and enjoying it quite a bit.  This is only the second Atwood I’ve read, but for no reason other than that old adage, so many books, so little timeAlias Grace was nominated for both the Orange and Booker prizes, so it seems a good way to get re-acquainted with her.  Look for my review sometime in the next few days.

Who are your favorite authors?  Do you highlight them on your blog?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

18 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Introducing my Favorite Authors

  1. I have some of my favourite authors pictured in a sidebar, and then I started a series in which I post a bit about my relationship with a favourite author (one per post). My only problem is finding time to publish the posts: never enough space in the week! 😉 Eventually, when the series gets larger, I’d like to catalogue it somehow. But plenty of time to ponder that later.

  2. I really like the way that you’re organizing these: just enough information to show them off a little! And I completely understand including writers when you’ve read very little: sometimes you just KNOW. ::grin:: (And thanks for the shout-out/credit for MRE-ness.)

  3. I love that you are highlighting your favorites on your blog! I don’t have a special tab on my blog, but anyone who reads more then two entries won’t take long to figure out that I LOVE Charles Dickens: I probably gush about him at least every third post ;). I’ve been meaning to read Iris Murdoch ever since going on an A.S. Byatt binge. Any suggestions where to start?

    • Jo, for my first Murdoch I really had no idea, so I just went to a bookshop and chose a title that sounded good. But then, I realized I read a lot of prizewinners so next I chose Murdoch’s Booker Prize winner, The Sea, the Sea. It worked for me …

    • Fleur, I completely understand!! This was on my holiday “to do list” along with a myriad of other little housekeeping tasks … much like the list you recently published. I didn’t quite finish it while I was off work, so I felt a bit of pressure, but I don’t think I would ever have done it if I hadn’t set aside a bit of time to think it through.

Comments are closed.