Midweek @ Musings: Another Opportunity to read Women Authors

Last week’s post was all about orangey goodness, as I previewed my Orange January reading list.  I’m also pleased to announce another event dedicated to reading the work of women authors:

Virago Reading Week, January 24-30

Hosted by Rachel and Carolyn, Virago Reading Week involves reading at least one book published by Virago Press.  This is not a problem for me, since I collect Virago Modern Classics faster than I can read them!  Rachel and Carolyn have published some helpful resources, like a list of Virago authors, and a link to a handy spreadsheet compiled by members of LibraryThing’s Virago Modern Classics group (I have my own private version of this that I use to track my collection and my wish list).

You say you’ve never read a Virago?  And you don’t have any on your shelves?  Don’t let that stop you !! There are more than 500 Virago Modern Classics, many of which were published in other editions.  Authors like Edith Wharton, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Pym are good examples.  I’m planning to read Winifred Holtby’s first novel, Anderby Wold.  Holtby instantly became one of my favorite authors when I read South Riding, and I simply must read more of her work.  If I’m lucky and have time to read two Viragos, then I’ll also read One Fine Day, by Mollie Panter-Downes, a book that was very highly recommended by Rachel.

But first, I need to finish my Orange January reading.  In the past week I’ve read Alias Grace, and really enjoyed it.  I should have a review posted very soon.  And then my last Orange January read will be Rose Tremain’s The Colour.

This is shaping up to be a very nice month reading women authors.

I hope to “see” you during Virago Reading Week!


4 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: Another Opportunity to read Women Authors

  1. I’m so glad you’re looking forward to this, Laura, and it looks like you have some excellent books to read! One Fine Day is truly marvellous and I am going to put a big vote towards you reading that!

  2. I’m entirely new to Viragos, but I’m definitely going to look into them more in the future! I just got The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty from the library for Virago reading week. Looking forward to it. 😀

    • Eva, I got hooked on collecting Viragos and have found that while many of the authors are completely unknown to me, I have enjoyed every book I’ve read. It’s been a wonderful way to discover women authors whose work may not have gained the recognition it deserved during their lifetime.

Comments are closed.