Midweek @ Musings: Favorite Lit Blogs, Part 1 (Old Friends)

The other day I was tweaking my blogroll, which appears under the heading, “Favorite Lit Blogs” in my sidebar.  I got to thinking about how I discovered each of these blogs, and that gave me an idea for a new feature: every so often I’ll dedicate a Midweek @ Musings post to some of my Favorite Lit Blogs.  To kick things off, I thought it would be fun to introduce you to some of my very first blogging friends.

I began blogging in 2007 (I was on LiveJournal then).  I took part in a Yahoo! reading group that discussed a different book each month.  I noticed a number of members also had blogs, which inspired me to start my own.  These book group members were some of the first additions to my blogroll, and the links on their blogs helped me discover the great book blogging community.

My Favorite Lit Blogs include four who have been with me pretty much from the beginning:

Wendy (aka LiteraryFeline) at Musings of a Bookish Kitty

I was instantly attracted to Wendy’s blog, because she loves both books and cats. And now she has a cute little dog, too.  It’s funny, our reading tastes aren’t all that similar, but I still enjoy reading her posts.  We share more than 150 books on LibraryThing, and her top-rated books are all ones I enjoyed, too.  Wendy is also one of the friendliest bloggers I know, frequently visiting my blog to leave a comment.

Elizabeth (aka raidergirl3) at An Adventure in Reading

Elizabeth hails from Prince Edward Island in Canada, and I’ve never met anyone from there before other than Anne of Green Gables.  Is that a reason to follow a blogger?  Well, it was good enough for me!  Elizabeth also started her blog in early 2007, and was a reading challenge addict, just like me.  I continue to enjoy her blog because she’s a strong advocate for Canadian literature and keeps me thinking about how to read more works by my neighbors up north.

Jill at The Magic Lasso

Jill joined the blogosphere just a few months after me, and was also initially on LiveJournal. We joined many of the same reading challenges, and chatted a lot on LibraryThing.  We share a love of Orange Prize winners and nominees, and Jill is both the brains and brawn behind Orange January & July, two reading events dedicated to the Orange Prize.  She’s taken Orange Prize reading to an entirely new level by creating a Facebook page and a LibraryThing group, cheering us on during each event, and awarding prizes.  In addition to all the bookishness, I’ve been lucky to get to know Jill on a personal level.  I enjoy talking with Jill about our careers, our kids, and life in general.

Wendy at Caribousmom

Wendy was a very, very active member of the Yahoo! book group and I ran into her just about everywhere, on LibraryThing and in the book blogging community.  She invited me to my first reading challenge, The New York Times Notable Books challenge, and I quickly became a reading challenge addict.  And slowly we realized we were “bookie soulmates.”  We had the same views on almost every book we read.  I knew if Wendy hated a book, I would, too.  And the books she loved instantly went to the top of my TBR pile.  Over the years our reading patterns have diverged — she reads more ARCs and newly published works, and I read more classics and Booker Prize nominees — but we still have a special relationship.  Our instant bond over books developed into a strong friendship, further strengthened through a face-to-face meetup a couple of years ago.  We’ve supported each other through some difficult personal times.  I feel like I’ve known her all my life!  And I consider Wendy one of my dearest friends.

My blogroll has changed a lot over four years, especially during the past 18 months as I’ve made a concerted effort to connect with those who share my reading interests.  Not every connection will lead to a long-lasting friendship, and that’s OK.  But as this post attests, it’s possible and worth the effort.

I hope you will check out these fine bloggers … enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: Favorite Lit Blogs, Part 1 (Old Friends)

  1. thank you! I remember when you four were some of the only bloggers I knew. You all read such great books, I felt nervous butting in and joining in at Notable Books. Of course, everyone was so welcoming and kind that I wonder now why I was nervous.
    Someday you’ll come to PEI and visit Green Gables, and me! (My middle name is Anne, of course with an ‘e’)

    • Elizabeth, it’s funny to look back on those early days when we were all so tentative with each other. I’d love to visit PEI someday!

  2. The two Wendys are among my very favorite book bloggers as well! I was blogging before I joined LibraryThing, but I joined LT (over GoodReads) mostly due to Literary Feline’s influence.

  3. It is strange to see you list these blogs as they were some of the first I found (through you probably!) but although I follow all of them I tend to lurk. It stems from the days when I was too scared to comment much and so I have built up a habit of reading, but not commenting on them. It is really bad of me, as I am such an active commenter on so many blogs. I must make the effort to let them know I appreciate their blogs more.

    • Jackie, I know what you mean about being reluctant to comment sometimes. There are blogs that fit into that category for me as well. And of course it’s difficult to comment everywhere!

  4. I am so honored to be among this list. Thank you for including me with the Wendys and Elizabeth. And I’m all for a trip to PEI!

  5. I couldn’t agree more with the ones you mentioned! Really, you five and one or two newer blogs, I’m looking at you, Jackie @ Farm Lane Books, are the ones I always read no matter what!

Comments are closed.