Midweek @ Musings: No time to read, and my reading needs time

Just a short post today … this is a ridiculously busy week.  Work is crazy, we have a houseguest arriving tonight (which is wonderful but required an unprecedented level of bathroom cleaning), my daughters are performing in their high school’s Coffeehouse on Thursday evening, and #2 daughter came down with a stomach bug yesterday.

I’m also behind on writing reviews, which has never happened to me before!  I recently read Kitchen, a short book by Japanese author Banana Yoshimoto.  It was, well, different.  This week I’m participating in a Belletrista conversation about this book, and I’m hoping that will help me  compose my thoughts for my review.

Meanwhile my current read, The Hills at Home, is simultaneously delighting me and requiring more attentive reading than I expected.  I love the humor, the irony, and the emotion in this family drama/comedy (yes it’s a bit of both).  But I’m finding I have to read carefully.  The smirk or eye rolling embedded within a long descriptive paragraph often turns out to be significant later on.  This is a book to savor, and it’s well worth it, but between my savoring and my bathroom cleaning, it’s taking me longer than expected to finish.

So … duty calls, must run.  I hope you’re having a great week!

4 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: No time to read, and my reading needs time

  1. I remember those days of raising kids, working for a living, and running around like a mad thing. I can’t say as I miss part of them either! Savour on, MacDuff!

  2. I had that sort of week last week. Just take a deep breath and remind yourself that you will get through it and there is life on the other side of the weekend. Take Care.

Comments are closed.