Midweek @ Musings: The “South Riding Effect”

Despite my love of data and visualizations, I don’t obsess about my blog stats.  Really!  But once in a while something jumps out at me, and then I do start obsessing.  A little bit.  And now I’m going to tell you all about it 🙂

During Virago Reading Week I noticed a spike in traffic.  New visitors!  New commenters!  And the number of daily visitors has been fairly consistent since.  This is really great, since one of my 2011 blogging resolutions is to strengthen my connections with classics bloggers.  * waves *

I also noticed that one of my most-viewed pages in 2010 was also the most-viewed post during Virago Reading Week:   my review of Langston Hughes’ The Ways of White Folk.  This post is now a year old, and the book is not a Virago.  But there’s a bunch of people out there who search for information on The Ways of White Folk, and their search leads them here.  * waves *

The Hughes post continued to hold the “most-viewed” position for the day, the week, and for all time … that is, until Sunday, February 20.  What happened that day?  Virago fans?  Anyone?

The BBC dramatization of South Riding aired on UK television.

When I visited my dashboard on Monday, I noticed the Sunday and Monday traffic was a bit higher than usual.  And I had a new most-viewed post:  my review of South Riding! Winifred Holtby holds the top spot for today, the past 7 days, the past 30 days, and the quarter.  She surged ahead of Langston Hughes this week with almost 3 times as many hits over the past 7 days.  Wow!  The search terms are interesting, too, from the obvious “south riding book review” and “south riding book synopsis,” to “south riding by winifred holtby how does it end?” (you don’t think I’m going to tell you that, do you?!)

I’m really quite intrigued by this phenomenon.  I imagine scores of British television viewers wondering “what is this South Riding thing?” and rushing to their computers to find out.  Now I can’t stop watching my stats!

If any of those “South Riding Searchers” are reading this, welcome.  I’m delighted by your visits.  I hope you will leave a comment, and I hope you return often!

4 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: The “South Riding Effect”

  1. Why do people want to know how it ends?! Can’t they just watch it?! I was planning on watching the series, but my TV has broken so I guess I’ll have to wait until it comes out on DVD.

    Keyword watching is often amusing – some of the things people search for are very bizarre! Enjoy your new hobby 😉

    • Jackie, I’m sorry to hear your TV is broken! But if memory serves, you didn’t like the book much, so perhaps you’re not so gutted over waiting for the DVD? And I do think I’ll be paying more attention to keywords … sad but true 🙂

  2. It’s is kinda funny I have actually noticed the same results as I run a blog about Game of Thrones. after the last episode my hits went threw the roof. Maybe it’s time to start developing blogs around these types of shows? If you are looking for ranking.

    • That’s an idea, Sandra! I’m not really “looking for ranking,” but I certainly found it interesting to see a single event boost my stats like that. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.