The Sunday Salon: Inspirational Women Giveaway

This has been a serendipitous week, with several things coming together unexpectedly.  And this is all for the good, because today I am announcing a giveaway!

March is Women’s History Month in the US and UK, with International Women’s Day as the focal point on March 8 (read my International Women’s Day post).  Last week was also Read an E-Book Week (here’s Florinda’s great post about it).  And then, following my review of Iris Murdoch’s The Nice and the Good, e-book publisher Open Road Media contacted me about their short video, The Women of Yesterday Inspiring the Women of Today. In the video, authors Susan Minot, Lisa Alther, Josephine Hart or Ruth Gruber talk about “the suffragettes, bedroom poets, novelists, daughters and grandmothers whose courage, talent and dedication serve as daily inspiration in their own treasured work.”  For Josephine Hart, that source of inspiration is Iris Murdoch, one of my favorite authors as well.


The Women of Yesterday Inspiring the Women of Today


I like the opening of this video, with Susan Minot’s “hero table.”  What an interesting concept!  Also, Josephine Hart’s reference to  Murdoch’s characters being “saved by sin” really resonated with me as a key theme in Murdoch’s work, and one I hadn’t thought about before.  And I think I need to read something by Ruth Gruber, because her personal story is so interesting, and I love the way she talks about Virginia Woolf’s “will to write as a woman” inspiring her journey.

Most of my literary inspiration has come from women.  Early in life, I had reading role models in my family and at school.  As an adult, I’m inspired by my favorite authors, others published as Virago Modern Classics, and certain contemporary authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Marilynne Robinson.  I have also met many wonderful women through blogging and LibraryThing, who love talking about books and recommending books, and have stretched my reading in so many ways.

Are there women who have inspired your reading?  If so, you might be interested in my giveaway!


Win an e-Book!

Thanks to the generosity of Open Road Media, I am happy to offer one lucky reader of my blog a free review copy via NetGalley of one of the following e-Books by authors featured in the video:  Josephine Hart’s Damage, Susan Minot’s Monkeys, Lisa Alther’s Kinflicks, Ruth Gruber’s Haven, or Iris Murdoch’s Bruno’s Dream.

  • The giveaway contest is open until 5:00 PM (EDT) on March 20, 2011.
  • The giveaway contest is open ONLY to US mailing addresses.
  • To enter, please leave a comment about great women who have inspired your literary pursuits.
  • The winner will be chosen at random and announced on my blog. I will also notify the winner by email, and provide their email address to Open Road Media.
  • Open Road Media will contact the winner for their book selection and other necessary details.

Good luck!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

5 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Inspirational Women Giveaway

  1. My second grade teacher Mrs.Hoffman shared with me the love of books.She made me feel it was a special gift .

  2. My mother has been important to my reading, in that she bought us many books, took us to the library, and read to us before we could read ourselves. And then all my female English professors and English teachers (most of them were women). Great question.

  3. Oh, I have been inspired by numerous women writers over the years, too, and your mention of Lisa Alther in your list reminded me that I have several of her books that I read and reread in the 1970s.

    Thanks for reminding me, too, that I must read something by Iris Murdoch…don’t know why I’ve missed her.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  4. Pingback: West Of Mars — Win A Book! » Blog Archive » Inspirational Women Giveaway

  5. My mother, Alice Williams Bauer, inspired not only me & my two brothers, but hundreds of children as a first grade teacher.

    My own first grade teacher, Mrs. des Enfants, and my high school English literature teacher, Norma Jordan, bookended my undergraduate years encouraging me pursue what was between the covers.

    Dorothy Canfield Fisher and Carolyn Keene were among the authors I read by flashlight under the covers as a child.

    Stories by Mari Sandoz and Willa Cather were the inspiration for my move to the base of the Rocky Mountains.

    Barbara Kingsolver and Anne Tyler are the authors whose new books I await with great anticipation and am seldom disappointed.

Comments are closed.