The Sunday Salon: When it Rains it Pours

Happy First day of Spring!  It’s still a bit chilly in these parts, but the sun is shining more often lately, and temperatures are climbing.  So why the “rainy” title for this post?  I’ll tell you …

But first, I have a question:

Have you entered my e-Book giveaway yet?

You have until 5:00pm US EDT today, so hurry on over and leave a comment!

Now about that title.  It’s raining classics around here!  And I’m lovin’ it.

It started a two weeks ago with my re-read of Pride and Prejudice, one of my all-time favorite books (read my review if you wish, although it doesn’t do justice to the book).  If you visited earlier this week, you’ll know I’m now reading The Portrait of a Lady, by Henry James.  This is a fabulous book!  It’s my first experience reading James, and while he’s very wordy he also has a dry wit, and there’s something about his writing that I find soothing.  Reading Colm Tóibín’s The Master last year inspired me to read James (here’s my review of The Master).  I highly recommend both of these books.   This week I also slipped in a quiet novella, J.L. Carr’s A Month in the Country, another soothing and thoughtful classic.

And then.  I bet you’re wondering about the Reading Adventures of Lisa and Mary, aren’t you?  I’ve been waiting ages for a library copy of A Dance to the Music of Time, by Anthony Powell.  The first person in queue returned the book right on its due date.  On February 27, the book was in transit to the second library patron.   Well, either she didn’t like it or she’s a fast reader, because it’s now waiting for me at my local branch.  This is great news … except I’m in the middle of reading the 535-page Henry James, and the Powell is a doorstop of more than 700 pages.  See what I mean by when it rains it pours?  I’ll be a busy reader for the next couple of weeks.

But wait … I said it was pouring, didn’t I?  That’s because I’m not only reading classics, I’m acquiring them with reckless abandon!  On Saturday I was in Philadelphia, and stopped by a used bookshop I’ve meant to visit for some time.  And, ooh la la, I found the mother lode of Virago Modern Classics!  I left the shop with 8, bringing my total collection to 166:

This is the only time in memory when pouring rain absolutely made my day!

Have you read or acquired any interesting classics?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

8 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: When it Rains it Pours

  1. Like Deb, I’m trundling through War and Peace. I’m really enjoying it, which is a good thing as I thought I wouldn’t. Besides that, no classics for me but that’s not too surprising as I’m more of a contemporary gal anyhow. The list of Virago Modern Classics look fantastic!

  2. I’ve been wanting to reread a few that I enjoyed many, many, MANY years ago…back when I was young…LOL

    But the books now waiting in my office, my bedroom, etc., are all clamoring for attention, too.

    While I read and enjoyed Tolstoy, Jane Austen, etc., I have never read Henry James. I should start there before rereading anything.

    Speaking of rain…it is literally raining here in Central California.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • Laurel, I have difficulty re-reading also, because of all the books clamoring for my attention. P&P is my first re-read in a very long time. I can certainly recommend Henry James to you!

      Hope your weather dries out soon 🙂

  3. I remember enjoying Daisy Miller – maybe it’s time to try some more Henry James – thanks for all the recommendations!

    • Hi James! This is my first Henry James but I’ve heard Daisy Miller is good too … someday, someday. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.