The Sunday Salon: Bookish Happenings in August

Good morning Saloners!  Where has the summer gone?  Suddenly I find most of our family activity is focused on back-to-school preparations.  Daughter #1 leaves for university next weekend (gulp), so she is in a packing frenzy.  Daughter #2 is in high school, and insisted on buying supplies this week, even though classes don’t start for two weeks!  Even the weather has changed, with milder days and pleasant evenings.

Fortunately, I’m still finding time to read.  So far this month, I’ve finished three books (click on the links for my reviews):

When will there be Good News?, by Kate Atkinson

Who was Changed and Who was Dead, by Barbara Comyns

Remembering Babylon, by David Malouf – review coming soon!

These were three very different books: the first was a mystery, the second a surreal novella, and the third historical fiction.  Nothing like variety!

My current read is The Black Prince, by Iris Murdoch, which I have only just begun so I can’t say much about it yet.  This year I intend to read Iris Murdoch’s 5 Booker Prize-nominated works; this is my third.  I’d like to read and review it before the end of the week, but realistically that may not happen.

I’ll be taking a short blogging break through next weekend, due to the aforementioned daughter’s move to university.  I have a guest post planned, and I’ll still be reading when I can.  By the end of August, I hope to read The Bird Sisters, by Rebecca Rasmussen and Crampton Hodnet, by Barbara Pym.  Watch for my reviews!

What are you reading this weekend?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

15 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Bookish Happenings in August

  1. I am having anxiety attacks preparing my son for middle school; I can’t imagine prepping my child for college! Enjoy this special week with both girls!

    P.S. I am reading “Untold Story” by Monica Ali….

  2. Crampton Hodnet was my first experience with Pym! The title alone reels you in.

    All the best to your girls, Laura. I remember dropping off our daughter at university as if it were yesterday. As my husband and I walked away the last thing we heard before getting on the elevator was the sound of her laughter as other girls stopped by her room to say hello. And as for your other daughter, she is a girl after my own heart! Fresh stacks of paper, new pens, pristine pencils….how exciting!

    • Thanks Darlene! I like your story about taking your daughter to university. I hope something similar happens for us, so we can leave on a positive note. And as for the stationery-shopping expedition, I have to admit that I insisted on accompanying my daughter and wouldn’t let my husband take her! I just love office supply stores!

  3. Hmmm…I recently finished an Atkinson mystery (One Good Turn) and a slightly surreal novella (On the Overgrown Path), and now I’m starting a non-fiction book that seems to read a bit like a historical novel so far (In an Antique Land). Seems to be a pattern, eh?

    • Well that’s freaky Linda. If your fourth book is a Booker Prize nominee by a female author, then I will really wonder what’s up!

  4. Exciting times in your household! I admit to a delicious feeling of detachment every September since retirement. I no longer have that residual urge to buy coloured pencils or to wear plaid. Just have to remember to get home before the school buses do the afternoon runs! Best of luck to your bird on the edge of the nest. Daughter #2 will be an only child for a while!

  5. Crampton Hodnet is a wonderful book, I think you’ll love it.

    Big changes afoot for your family, wow. Best of all things to daughter #1, so exciting. I can’t wait to hear about her adventures!

  6. “This year I intend to read Iris Murdoch’s 5 Booker Prize-nominated works…”

    Wait! You’re not making yourself a reading list in the midst of your Read-Whatever-You-Want-To-Cuz-Reading’s-Supposed-to-Be-Fun Year, is it? ::grin::

    Or have you just been bitten by the Murdoch bug?

    • BIP, you kinda got me there! I forgot to link that text to the original post where I explained my intentions (an error I have now corrected). Despite my “devil-may-care” approach this year, I’m still committed to reading plenty of Booker nominees, Orange nominees, and Viragos. It’s a fine balance 🙂

      And Pumpkin says hi back at ya … he asked me to reply here rather than replying to each of your other fun comments.

Comments are closed.