The Sunday Salon: September Plans

Another Sunday is upon us, and here in the US we are enjoying a long holiday weekend.  On Friday, I made an impulse decision to extend the holiday slightly, by taking the afternoon off.  I’d spent the week preparing for, and then leading, a 3-day meeting, and I was worn out!  I’m so glad I took the extra time, it made all the difference in my “recovery.” I’m spending the weekend getting things done around the house, weeding the garden, watching US Open Tennis, and of course reading.

Despite a very busy August, I finished all my planned reads — although my last book, The Bird Sisters, spilled over into September by a couple of days (read my review).  I seem to be reading a pretty steady 6 books per month, not bad at all but a bit slower than previous years, particularly in the summer.  In September I actually have 7 books queued up but will be surprised if I finish them all:

  • Tortilla Flat and The Pearl, by John Steinbeck: these have been on my shelves for a few years.  Having enjoyed Grapes of Wrath and East of Eden, I picked these up in a used bookshop fully intending to read more Steinbeck.  I’m finally getting around to it!
  • Two Days in Aragon, by Molly Keane: this month’s Virago Modern Classic.  I own several of her books and have yet to read a single one!
  • The Little Stranger, by Sarah Waters:  this novel has received mixed reviews from Waters fans.  But it was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and longlisted for the Orange Prize, so I just kind of have to read it.  I really liked both Fingersmith and The Night Watch.
  • The Good Apprentice, by Iris Murdoch: continuing my very enjoyable journey through Murdoch’s Booker Prize nominees
  • Annabel, by Kathleen Winter: in the Orange January/July LibraryThing group, one of the members challenged us to keep reading at least one Orange nominee per month until January.  I know, I know, I don’t do reading challenges!  But I do love my Oranges … 🙂 
  • Before you Suffocate your Own Fool Self, by Danielle Evans: I won this collection of short stories in a Belletrista giveaway, and I’m a little annoyed with myself for not reading more of the wonderful books I discover every time I visit Belletrista.

I’m also working my way slowly through The God Delusion, which I have on my Kindle.  It’s supposed to be my “lunchtime read,” and it’s very interesting indeed.  I just haven’t had as much lunchtime reading time lately as I would like!

Well that should keep me busy in September.  What are you looking forward to reading this month?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

15 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: September Plans

  1. Happy Sunday! Glad you’re enjoying your holiday weekend! Your post reminds me that I, too, should read more Steinbeck. Enjoy your September selections!

  2. It’s been a wonderful long weekend here as well. Why wouldn’t you count TheLittle Stranger as your Sept Orange book? I liked both, especially Annabel so I’m not discouraging you, just curious.
    September will be mysteries and RIPs for me. What was the Orange book you read that was a mystery? I remember reading your review (it was ok for you) and thinking I’d really like it.

    • Um … why wouldn’t I count it? Great question Raidergirl! There is a method to my madness. For my personal reading goals, I keep track only of shortlisted novels read, not the longlisted ones. But I s’pose for the Orange Jan/July group chat, both would count … hooray!

      Is the Orange-nominated mystery Black Water Rising?

  3. I read Tipping the Velvet by Waters earlier this year – my first book by her. I’m looking forward to reading more of her work at some point. Today I’ll be reading The Handmaid’s Tale for a read-along. And probably indulging in a couple episodes of Ally McBeal on Netflix. 🙂 Have a great Sunday!

  4. I’m eager for your review of The Little Stranger which I really liked – and I would LOVE to talk to you about the ending of this book. Very intriguing! Enjoy!

Comments are closed.