The Sunday Salon: Third Quarter Progress

Hello Saloners!  As we head into 2011’s “home stretch,” it’s time once again to take stock of my reading.  I’ve read 55 books so far (19 in the third quarter), which puts me on track to read about 72 books by the end of the year.  That will be fewer books than in 2009 & 2010, but I’m OK with that.  I keep reminding myself that two of the books were “movements” from Anthony Powell’s A Dance to the Music of Time, which would have counted as six books if I’d read them as separate novellas.  And besides, if I’m enjoying my reading it doesn’t matter.  Right?

The third quarter started on a high note with Orange July.  I had a great time reading Orange Prize winners & nominees, and I also logged my third 5-star read this year.  Speaking of highly rated books, here are my favorite reads from the third quarter (click on the link for my review):

I read several 4-star books, mostly Orange nominees and Viragos, but there were also some clunkers.  Iris Murdoch’s The Good Apprentice, and John Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat were both disappointing, and made me cranky, so I set them both aside.

At this point in the year, I can also declare victory on most of my 2011 Reading Resolutions.

  • I will not set quantitative goals
  • I will not read ahead of myself
  • I will not join reading challenges
  • I will take part in reading events
  • I will make steady progress on all reading projects

The only resolution that continues to challenge me is, “I will make a noticeable dent in my stacks.” I originally intended to read books acquired before 2010, but amended this resolution to read books acquired before 2011.  I’m doing a little better based on my new criteria; I’ve read nine from my stacks so far this year, four of these in the third quarter.  Still, as I look ahead to 2012 I’d like to make a concerted effort to read books I already own.  In fact, I’m starting the fourth quarter off with a book I’ve had for more than three years!  It’s The Story of Forgetting, by Stefan Block.  How did this one get lost on my shelves?  I’ve heard good things about it from several readers & bloggers, so I hope I like it as much as they did.

What are you looking forward to reading between now and year end?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Third Quarter Progress

  1. Ah, I had vowed to make a more sizable dent in my “old TBRs” this year, too, but the progress hasn’t been that great. Yes, I am reading them, but slowly, since I keep acquiring newer books and it’s hard to ignore some of them.

    I could stop buying and accepting books for review, but I don’t like to feel “punished.” LOL

    In my Salon post today, I have a link to my monthly wrap-up, etc.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. How can third quarter not be good when it starts with OJ? (Oh, I just noticed that’s Orange July’s acronym…I probably should have caught that before!)

    And 5.5 out of 6 of your resolutions is definitely something to celebrate. Perhaps with some new books?

    For the rest of this year I’m planning to fill the gaps in my theme-reading projects; I chose those subjects for a reason, but it’s been so long that I’ve got to remind myself what that was and get into the reading groove with them again.

    • Funny you mention new books … I just won a gift card in a charity auction and am mulling over just what to spend it on …woo hoo!

Comments are closed.