The Sunday Salon: Orange January will be here before we know it!

December is always such a whirlwind, with both family birthdays and Christmas to celebrate.  And that’s not all:  Orange January is just around the corner!  This annual reading event, and its companion, Orange July, are devoted to reading at least one book that has won or been nominated for the Orange Prize for Fiction.  Jill at The Magic Lasso does a great job organizing these events, and promoting them with groups on both LibraryThing and Facebook.

The groups add a wonderful social element.  I’ve gleaned lots of reading recommendations, and it’s fun to have people cheering me on as I read.  In July I also recruited a mascot — sort of an “Orange personal trainer” — and I’m happy to say he’ll be returning in January!

Photobucket

My Orange mascot, Pumpkin, helps create my reading list

I’ve read all the winners, and am currently working on the short lists. I don’t necessarily want to read every shortlisted book, but there are several years where I have read the winner, and all but one or two of the shortlisted titles. My inner completist is calling very loudly to “finish” 2011, 2008, 2006, 2004, and 2002. That would be 10 books, which is doable, but doesn’t leave much room to read the 2012 short list.  So we’ll see what happens, but for now I’ve chosen my January reads:

I know you’re eager to take part in Orange January.  What do you plan to read?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

13 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Orange January will be here before we know it!

  1. Welcome back, Pumpkin!

    Great list of books, Laura! As always, I will look forward to your reviews. And thank you so much for plugging the event! =)

    • Jill, Pumpkin says hello. He doesn’t care so much about my books but he does like curling up in my lap when I read during the winter. So I know I can count on him for support (and warmth!).

  2. So glad to see Pumpkin will be assisting you again in January (love that photo!!!). I will be interested to see what you think of Oryx and Crake – it is not my favorite Atwood, but I really liked it. I have no idea yet which Orange books I am going to read – I have so many of them that choosing 2 or 3 will be hard! I may have to take a poll 🙂

    • Wendy, Pumpkin loves to hang out with me when I’m working on the computer. Sometimes he gets a little tooo close 🙂

      I’ve been warned about Oryx & Crake already, so I’m kind of dubious. It was one of those impulse buys at a used bookshop, because I knew it was an Orange nominee. It helps to know you liked it!

    • JannyAn, the jury is out as to whether Pumpkin is actually helpful. But he is a sweet boy, so I enjoy having him around. Room is a great book; I hope you like it!

  3. I didn’t know that there was an Orange January as well as July. I have a few winners and short lists on my shelves – including Oryx and Crake – so maybe I’ll have to participate.

  4. I will be interested to see what you think of Oryx and Crake – it is not my favorite Atwood, but I really liked it. I have no idea yet which Orange books I am going to read – I have so many of them that choosing 2 or 3 will be hard!

  5. I added up something like that, too, and had 11. So I gave up on that. Then I thought about the winners that I’ve missed. Then I thought about choosing letters of the alphabet (because of course I have them in alpha order, doesn’t everyone?). Then I realized that my scribblings had filled the notes section of a week in my calendar. And there was no way that would fit into January. So, um, I haven’t decided. That’s bad, I know ::hangs head::

Comments are closed.