The Sunday Salon: A Bit of This and That

Whew!  I’m a bit late with my post today, seems a lot of things are demanding my attention these days.  I’m behind on my Christmas gift shopping, I have a mound of laundry staring at me, and I seem to find dust and pet hair every time I turn around.  And then my youngest daughter turned 16 and obtained her learner’s permit, so I’ve taken her out on the road a couple of times this weekend.

But there are still bookish happenings to report, albeit not very organized or cohesive:

  • I reorganized my Virago bookcase.  When I set it up the first time, the books somehow ended up in reverse alphabetical order as you move from top to bottom.   It was beginning to bother me, so I rearranged everything.  This also gave me the opportunity to re-order books by the same author.  They’re now organized by original publication date.  It’s oh-so-orderly!  It didn’t take long, and it was actually quite satisfying.  I didn’t make a big deal of this at home, because it would just draw quizzical looks.  But I know you’ll understand … 🙂
  • I finished two books (links will take you to my reviews):  Miss Hargreaves, which was a delightful bit of fun, and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, which didn’t live up to my expectations.  Last night I started The Seduction of Mrs Pendlebury, by Margaret Forster, and I have very good feelings about it already.  If only I didn’t have dusting and laundry and all that to do, I’d be curled up with it right now. I’ve wracked my brain trying to remember how I discovered this book.  I remember reading someone’s glowing review on their blog, and immediately requesting it from Paperbackswap.  I added it to my LibraryThing library in September, 2010, but failed to make a note of the person who inspired this acquisition.  Was it you?!  Please satisfy my curiosity and leave a comment!
  • I came across an interesting article in The Guardian which asks, Are publishers putting the squeeze on bloggers?  US publisher William Morrow sent a letter to book bloggers specifying their terms for sending Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs).  I’m surprised I haven’t seen more about this in the book blogosphere, but maybe I’m just not following the right blogs.  Still, I was mulling over the article and thinking it might be fodder for a blog post, when Simon of Savidge Reads went and wrote one.  It’s quite well done, so just read what he has to say.  And let me know what you think about this issue!

OK, I guess I can’t put off that dusting any longer.  I hope you’re having a wonderful Sunday.

Please drop me a comment and tell me what you’re reading …

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

8 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: A Bit of This and That

  1. The William Morrow debate was all over twitter for about a week, so that is why you probably missed it all. Quite a few people wrote posts about it, but none were people I follow (until the Guardian + Simon’s post) Just do a google search and you’ll turn up about 20 posts all ranting about it!

  2. There seems to be quite a lot out there about the William Morrow letter. To be honest, I received that letter and hardly gave it a thought. I don’t like all the unsolicited books that arrive, so I was happy they were making it easy for bloggers to choose…although I think the month deadline for review is unreasonable and means I won’t be accepting many of their books with that kind of timeline. On the other hand, I think there is more out there to get us upset than this. I don’t work for publishers, I don’t feel an undue pressure to review everything that comes my way, and if they stop sending me books, I have enough on my shelves to keep me busy for the next 8-10 years!

    Hope you have a great week, Laura…like you, I’m busy trying to get all the Christmas preparations done!

    • Wendy, as you know I don’t really “do” ARCs, since my reading tends more toward classics. So I can’t speak from experience here, but like you I would balk at having to read a book within a month — at least, it would affect how I choose books for review. And I can sympathize with having enough reading to keep you busy for years, I’m the same way! 🙂

  3. Sounds like a busy weekend for you. Hope you will be able to relax next weekend and get everything out of the way in order to enjoy the season the next week 🙂

Comments are closed.