The Sunday Salon: Holiday Reading Plans

Hello Saloners!  Friday was my last day of work for 2011, which means I’m ready to enjoy some serious vacation reading.  Even though the holidays are a busy time, #1 daughter is home from university, and we’ll be engaging in our usual Christmas traditions, I know I’ll still have more time than usual to curl up with a good book.  I’m also a scant three books away from 75 reads this year.  So here’s what’s on tap:

The last one is nonfiction, a choice inspired by my “reading nonfiction” post from earlier this week.  It was also a gift from my 2010 Virago Secret Santa.  Tomorrow is “opening day” for the 2011 event, and that reminded me I hadn’t read all last year’s gifts yet!

I might fit in more books before returning to work on January 3, but I don’t want to feel over committed.  Mostly I just want to relax and go where life takes me — whether that’s reading, or something else.

And now, I think I’m going to sign off and get lost in the Atkinson for a spell.

What are you reading over the holidays?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

16 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Holiday Reading Plans

    • Aha, another Brodie fan! I’ve been looking forward to this latest one. I logged just over 100 pages on Sunday and am really enjoying it.

  1. Sounds like you have some excellent reading in store. I wish I had some time off of work, but the holidays are usually especially busy for home care…so I imagine I’ll be rushing around as usual! Even still, I hope to squeeze at least three more books in before the end of the year – we’ll see!

    • Wendy, my job is such that I can usually take extended time off over the holidays. I’m thankful for that! I hope you have a wonderful holiday with lots of good reading time.

    • Vasilly, this month is about reading from my stacks, but I’m relying on my library for Orange January. Which I can’t wait for !! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. have a wonderful Christmas with your family 🙂 Great book choices! I am currently reading, “The Soldier’s Wife” and am loving it so far.

    • Hi Lisa, thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you’re enjoying “The Soldier’s Wife.” I haven’t read it myself, but I do like fiction set in the world war period.

  3. I love having the time to read more over the holidays. I’m reading Maine by Courtney Sullivan right now, which is a summer book, but is great as a cozy winter read. I also just picked up the upcoming Stewart O’Nan, which is a novella called The Odds and is quite enjoyable so far. Enjoy your winter reads!

    • Laura, thanks for visiting. Why not read a summer book in winter? I could transport you to another place — not a bad idea sometimes. Enjoy the O’Nan too.

  4. What a great author’s words in which to get lost this time of year! I’m finishing up my last read for the Foodie Challenge (about coffee: yum), Edith Wharton’s Custom of the Country, a lovely artsy volume called Romantic Moderns, and re-reading some kidlit. I always think that I’ll get a lot of reading done over the holidays, but typically days at a time slip past with more shortbreads than books in them.

    • A book about coffee? I’ll be watching for that one! Your reading plans sound pretty good! Like you, I also tend to overestimate my actual reading time. And I want to balance it with family time too, of course! Have a great holiday!

Comments are closed.