2012 Off The Shelf Challenge

Every reader has this problem, right?  We acquire books with every intent to read them, and then … well … somehow they don’t get read as soon as we think.

In 2011, I decided to make a noticeable dent in my stacks, and I did, sort of:  I read 17 books acquired before 2011, plus 11 from my Virago Modern Classics collection.  But I also added 65 books to my library, including 32 Viragos.

So.  As I write this, I have over 60 unread books just lying around, not including 140+ Viragos.  The Off the Shelf Challenge, hosted by Bookish Ardour, is just what I need to help me keep the pile at a manageable level.  I’m going for the Making A Dint level, requiring 30 books.  I actually hope to do better, but the next level up requires 50 books, way more than I can imagine!

I plan to read 12 Virago Modern Classics, and at least 24 other books acquired before 2012.  I’ll share progress reports in my quarterly reading updates.

One thought on “2012 Off The Shelf Challenge

  1. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Off the Shelf Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

Comments are closed.