The Sunday Salon: An anniversary post (or: Are blog years = dog years?)

This weekend I’m celebrating my 5th blogiversary!  Well, “celebrating” might be too strong a word, but I did take notice.  And as I reflected on 5 years of blogging, and being a dog lover and all, it occurred to me that blog years might be roughly equal to dog years:
PhotobucketEarly on, I was filled with a puppy’s curiosity and boundless energy. Then, like most bloggers, I experienced a sort of adolescent period, where I wondered what it was all about, and some days I just wanted to shut myself in my room for a while.

Photobucket

 

 

 

 

 

But with perseverance, my blogging reached middle age (35-40 in human years).  I’ve found my voice.  My blog has a clear purpose, and I understand my strengths and weaknesses.  And I feel pretty good about it.  I’ll never be one of those ultra-popular bloggers, but I read books I enjoy, and I enjoy sharing them with you.  And hopefully, if I’m like my sweet dog Lily (pictured here), as this blog heads into its “senior” years, it will continue to show the pluck and, er, doggedness of its youth.

Well, I think that’s about as far as the dog years metaphor can go!  It’s been a slow reading week so now I’m going to get back at it in hopes of having something bookish to say next weekend.

Have a great week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

19 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: An anniversary post (or: Are blog years = dog years?)

  1. I like it! Very nice blog and happy anniversary.

    Thankfully you didn’t post the two pups chillin on the couch picture – that would have been interesting.

  2. Well, you will ALWAYS be on of MY most popular blogs, Laura!!!! I love the dog analogy. Happy blogoversary, my friend…I’m glad you’re still here 🙂

  3. The dog year comparison is definitely fitting! Congratulations on your 5 years (which is a super long time in blog years and dog years – LOL)! Here’s hoping you enjoy many more. 🙂

  4. Wow, 5 years! I’m coming up on my four year blogoversary (in April) for my very first blog. About a year later, I started creating more blogs as if they were pancakes I could flip out. I got over that after awhile, although I still have several.

    I like your dog analogy. Cute!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. I love the analogy, and think it’s much more true than equating blog years to human years! Yay for comfortable middle-age. 😀

  6. Congratulations! Five years is such an awesome anniversary. Just think how much reflecting you’ve done in — what? 1,825 days? It’s great that you have a record of it. 🙂

  7. Happy blogiversary! I wrote a pretty reflective Sunday Salon post this week as well- looking over where my reading has gone in the past several years. It’s been fun and I’ve made such great friends!

Comments are closed.