The Sunday Salon: A 5-Star Week

Welcome to another Sunday!  I hope the weekend is treating you well.

Something happened to me this week that has never happened before:  I read two 5-star books back to back.  I was traveling on business with two longish flights, so I came prepared.  I didn’t expect my travel time to be so pleasant!

The first book was Hisham Matar’s In the Country of Men (read my review).  I finished this on my outbound flight and was completely swept up in this story of a Libyan boy whose father disappeared.  I had to restrain myself a bit on the flight, holding back audible gasps and tears.  I finished my second book, Molly Keane’s Good Behaviour, on my return flight.  It was very different from the first.  Where I loved Matar’s book for its plot, I marveled at the amazing writing in Good Behaviour (read my review).  I couldn’t put it down!

I even had time to spare on my return flight, thank goodness I brought my kindle!  Before touching down on home soil, I started Jane Austen’s short epistolary novella, Lady Susan.  I finished it yesterday, and found it mildly enjoyable (3 stars).  At 100 pages, this book was so short I can’t quite muster a full review.  It’s one of Jane Austen’s early works, and it shows. While it fell flat for me in places, there are clear signs of the talent she would later bring to her full-length novels.  It’s a good warmup to Emma, which I plan to re-read in February.

I don’t travel very often in my job, and I don’t especially enjoy it, but these two books made the experience much better!

Next up is Oryx and Crake, my last book for Orange January.

What are you reading this week?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

14 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: A 5-Star Week

  1. Sounds great! I’ve just gone back to Asimov – he’s the one writer that I begin reading the books of and they make me feel so cosy and warm.

    • Laurel-Rain, I’m not sure if the order matters. I picked up The Year of the Flood recently myself and look forward to reading it, too.

  2. I’m still waiting for my first 5-star read of the year! Yesterday I started Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace, also for Orange January, and I have a feeling that it might be it. It’s really good so far.

    • MJ, last year I had only four 5-star reads, so this was quite a surprise for me. I hope yours comes along soon. Alias Grace is a great book!

    • Laura, last year I decided to re-read one Austen novel each year, because they are so wonderful and I think I’ll get something new out of them each time. I have a couple more of her early works on my Kindle and plan to work my way through those, too.

  3. How lovely that two books were so good back to back! I’ll bet that helped the journey a LOT!

    Oh Oryx and Crake! One of my faves and the book that got me totally hooked on Margaret Atwood. I do hope you love it as much as I do.

    This week I am re-reading Ian McEwan’s Saturday for thesis purposes and Game of Thrones for fun purposes.

    • Kath, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Oryx and Crake. McEwan is one of my favorites, especially On Chesil Beach and Atonement. Enjoy your reading!

  4. What a great combo of literary styles! For Orange January, I’m reading Manda Scott’s Hen’s Teeth and planning to finish it this week; I’ve had it on my shelves for years and struggle to figure why it’s taken me so long to get to it, for it’s wholly entertaining and engaging.

    • Yes BIP, they were two very different books indeed! I’m not familiar with Hen’s Teeth, so I’ll be on the lookout for a review or thoughts on your blog.

Comments are closed.