The Sunday Salon: Joining the Classics Club

One of the wonderful things about blogging is discovering something new quite by accident.  Such is the case with The Classics Club, brainchild of Jillian at A Room of One’s Own. Jillian left a comment on this blog, and I wandered over to hers to check it out.  I found this:

I’ve been trying to think of a way to unite those of us who like to blog about classic literature, as well as to inspire people to make the classics an integral part of life. I thought about several ideas but finally settled on inviting people to make out a list of (at least 50) classic titles they intend to read and blog about within the next five years.

Oh, yes please!  One of my 2012 Reading Resolutions is to increase interaction with the book blogging community.  Since I read a lot of classics already, this looks like a terrific way to connect with other bloggers who share a similar interest.  The most difficult part was making a list.  50 books (10 per year) is low, since I generally commit to reading 12 Virago Modern Classics each year alone.  But I couldn’t bring myself to make a longer list; I’d rather leave room to read where my “classics mood” takes me.  That said, I have a few goals which this list will help me achieve:

  • Read my first Persephones (5 as of this writing)
  • Read the Virago Modern Classics written by my favorite authors: Elizabeth Taylor, Edith Wharton, & Winifred Holtby
  • Read several other favorite Virago authors such as M.J. Farrell (Molly Keane), E.H. Young, and Vita Sackville-West
  • Re-read one Jane Austen novel each year.  I’m two years into the cycle now so my list includes the four remaining novels plus one to begin another cycle.

And then there are several more I’ve meant to read for a while, and they made up the rest of my Classics Club Reading List.  Check it out!

What would be on your list?  Want to join the fun?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

11 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Joining the Classics Club

  1. I would love to join! I love Jane Austen and enjoy reading Edith Wharton’s books-). If you own a Nook, most classics are free anyway. Great challenge!

    • I know what you mean, Laura. I love reading classics, but for some of the older ones especially (1800s or before), they can be more difficult reading.

  2. I love how many Virago Modern Classics you’ve included on your list. Mine is filled to the brim with nineteenth-century writers, and now I’m thinking I should have made room for some of these twentieth-century hidden gems. Happy Reading!

    • Funny, Diana, I was feeling guilty about not having “enough” older titles! But I have so many VMCs on my shelves, and I truly want to read them all!

Comments are closed.